Lessons from a few days and a few mistakes

in #aceo8 years ago (edited)

It's been a little while that we've all been playing with Steemit. It's been fun. I am checking it more and more .. at this rate it may soon be like email for me. ;)

These lessons are less directly anecdotal and more the results of a few experiences .. here is what I've learned so far:

Treat people on Steemit like you are at a dinner party or family gathering. The Steemit dinner party is sometimes more like a masquerade, but nevertheless, everyone at the party is a person, and should be treated like one. This means treat all people positively.

Down-votes are like fines. A down vote is brutally negative and should be reserved for blatantly negative posts and spam. Using it on someone's post that is not brutally objectionable would amount to issuing a fine at a dinner party. Like, what? So that shouldn't happen. I learned this lesson after I used a down vote today on a post that beat me to posting my own video. Certainly could have handled that better by not voting .. letting poster know I would be posting later .. and carrying on.

More positive votes, less problems. My personal feeling is I am not voting enough but wish I were doing it more for more posts and people. I want to be more positive, especially after causing a negative interaction today. Perhaps when the GUI allows us to weight our votes, similar to a five-star system, it will become easier to vote with.

Looking forward to the coming days .. I really think we can drive a very positive ecosystem .. that encourages helping others .. complete thoughts .. less trolling .. identity .. and on and on. Very exciting days ahead.

Sort:  

This speaks volumes for your character ned. I'm impressed and very glad to see such honest humility. Thank you for the perspective. Steemit is going places, and I'm thrilled to be a part of it.

I apologize for finding your video and garnering support for Steemit without your consent. In my haste to promote Steemit, thinking the video needed some attention since it had zero views or likes, I stepped on your toes and I again apologize. Next time I'm in that situation I'll ask before spreading an advertisement far and wide.

But it did work. ;)

I think we are all too eager to help. Good intentions sometime can end up in unintended negative consequence. Still, this positive attitude should be encouraged.

I like your choice of gif here. :)

I think you're right on about avoiding downvotes as much as possible. The downvote button should be moved elsewhere (harder to click accidently), the icon should be something like a trash can, and perhaps there should even be a confirmation dialog.

It is a nice dinner hosted by Steemit Inc. There are a number of 'spammy' conversations. Yea, we can ignore them rather than downvoting them.

I've done the same thing today and feel bad because the individual's post was not negative by any means. I guess I felt as though it were meaningless to me. I thought of the selfish view I had absorbed without really noticing it all along. After speaking on this topic from the last 2 posts, I feel this heavy chain has been lifted realizing your fault is my flaw. Namaste

"Down-votes are like fines. A down vote is brutally negative and should be reserved for blatantly negative posts and spam. Using it on someone’s post that is not brutally objectionable would amount to issuing a fine at a dinner party. Like, what? So that shouldn’t happen. "

no wonder facebook has only a like button (no downvotes)
I think we must have the opportunity in future to vote without revealing our identity... STEALTH VOTING :)
because right now "everybody" is ass-licking ... I thing it would make quality content easier to pop up (or down , for bullshit) if we had such an option... (edit:from the other side I see the negatives also...hmmm)

I totally agree with the down voting thing. I've had a couple of posts that were down voted and it didn't make sense as to why. Ugg...

Thanks for this perspective on the platform. I think upvotes and downvotes are very subjective though. People choose them based on their own rationales and each one I feel like is valid.

Hmm very interesting. I thought it would be like saying yea or nay. Especially for this kind of post in the reply section.
https://steemit.com/steem/@clains/top-wanted-features-for-steem

If it is in this kind of case, is it okay?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65