Pinang Telangke, Manifestation of Love (A Geometrical Riddle of My Anchestors)

in #aceh6 years ago (edited)

7.jpg
One day between 2007-2008 my father and I talked at home. We used to discuss every thing that attracting our attention. Sometimes I initiated conversations with random theme, sometimes my Father started to react to the news, political circumstances in my country or television shows that he watch.

On that day, my father told me about Pinang Telangke. A complementary special thing in pre-wedding ceremony that applicate in adat (customary) of Tamiang tribe. Pinang Telangke tangible of three ring-shaped hooked without connexion carved out of an areca nut. These objects become part of the gift from male side to female side as the conduction in an adat (custom) application Tamiang tribal communities. Tamiang tribe is one of 19 ethnic live in Aceh Province, Indonesia. The largest population of the Tamiang tribe is in Aceh Tamiang District, 03° 53-04 ° 32 'N and 97 ° 44'- 98 ° 18' east longitude.

According to the elders, Pinang Telangke is a symbol of prayer for the new family that will be created in a marriage. Three rings of barbed has a special significance; The first ring circumference means husband, the second ring means wife and the third ring meaning of the offspring expected to be born in the new family. For me, the most beautiful meaning of Pinang Telangke Pinang is that three linked rings are came from one single areca nut which confirms that the new family will be bound in marriage come from the same source. They have been destined since the beginning of their existence as soulmate.

Pinang Telangke placed in a special box called Tepak Sirih containing tools and seasoning bersirih or chewing betel with several additional ingredients such as gambir, cracked or flakes of areca nut and whiting (lime betel). Chewing betel in most of Asian culture and tradition is the symbolization of peace, acceptance anda hospitality. Tepak sirih is carved box made of wood, copper, silver or even gold. At the time placed in tepak sirih, Pinang Telangke set number must be odd; at least 3 set. An old adage asserts that, "If you've coincidentaly made it even (4 set), you should make it odd (5 set). This means that if the creator wants to create 3 but has made 4, he should make it odd to 5. There is no specific explanation on this matter, because the rules inheritable by oral tradition.

The traditional ceremony of application should not be done directly by the family of the prospective bridegroom. Indigenous stipulate that such a meeting should be done by an intermediary called Telangke is usually an old man who has understood the adat and traditions in detail. Tamiang tribe call them Tok Telangke.

According to my father, the ability of making expertise Pinang Telangke has faded. Fewer people are able to make because of the high degree of difficulty and failure to regenerate the manufacturing skills. In the past, every youth who wants to apply for a girl should have been able to make their own Pinang Telangke to cover the event. The ability to make Pinang Telangke among the young men who wants to purpose their dream girl as a wife is aims to demonstrate the seriousness of intention and the manifestation of love. The expertise to make Pinang Telangke requiring of high-level patience and perseverance.

However, along with the times, this tradition shifted. Terms ‘able to make Pinang Telangke’ changed form the 'able to provide Pinang Telangke' which means that every youth should pay people who are able to make Pinang Telangke to complete the application requirements. Shifting this tradition turned out to have an impact on people's reluctance to learn to make Pinang Telangke. Finally, the expertise to make Pinang Telangke faded and almost extinct.

My Father told me that the only one who have the ability to make Pinang Telangke is the youngest brother of my late-Andong (grandmother from my father side). My cousin and me call him Tok Uncu. Tok is abbreviation of Atok which means grandfather. The problem is, Tok Uncu is stingy to share knowledge. That day, my Father challenge me make Pinang Telangke to dispel concerns over the endangered of the tradition.

Personally, I never look Pinang Telanggke directly. My Father led me by giving limited illustration about it. "Pinang Telangke is three linked rings carved out of the areca nut, the three linked rings was created without a connexion at all," said My father gave an overview. At that time, Tok Encu was already 87 years old. No one of his grandchild, or people he knew were taught how to make Pinang Telangke. My father worried about the traditions and the skills Pinang Telangke will become extinct if Tok Encu pass away.

I feel confused at the begining because I never seen Pinang Telangke at all. However, I know exactl how the shape of areca is. Finally, my brain led me to think geometricaly about areca nut, because the Pinang Telangke is a three dimension shape of a geometrical construction made from an areca nut.

A few days later, ‘armed’ with an illustration of the Father, I am looking for areca nut on the back yard of my house. Areca has plants commonly grown as a boundary marker of the fields. With a small folding knife, I tried starting engrave and carve from imaginary shape to the surface of the areca nut, several times my fingers scraped and bloody. I'm taking a break, boredom began to come over me.

I continue it again the next day. By noon, I had reached my first milestone by forming two rings linked, and that afternoon I’m yelling, “Eurekaaa...!!!” while after make three rings hooked. I did it! I reconstruct Pinang Telangke without ever having seen it though. I have solved my ancestors’ geometric riddle hundreds of years ago, without the guidance of Tok Encu, the last person who master these skills. My Father unable to hide his happiness, he hugged me repeatedly with compassion.

About five or six years latter on 2013, when my younger brother will apply for a girl, I apply the skill to make Pinang Telangke for the event. In the house of the bride a lot of people who feel curious and amazed with Pinang Telangke. They argue about how it made, "Is this magic?" said one of them. "How can something like this be made?" Said the other again. “Let’s try to check it more thoroughly, maybe there is a connexion there”, said another one. I’m really happy because a geometrical riddle of my ancestors got their attention.

Sort:  

Will You Teach how to make it for me?

Sure... it would be my pleasure...

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Thank you very much...

Welcome to a fellow Bitcoin enthusiast,sangdiyus!! I hope you will enjoy your time here on Steem! Look forward to your upcoming posts, mate!

Nice info, Pal...

Thanks for share bang.

Sama-Sama, Ngon...

Terimakasih, Bro...
Salam kenal.

Postingan yang bagus wakdiyus.

Terimakasih, WakSafri...

What a post buddy, you have done it well, welcome to the Steemit world, i will be waiting for your upcoming post. Keep it steem.

Thank you very much... it's nice to hear that, Buddy...

there you are, this is me mahlizar safdi, should we follow each other bang ? heheheh

Thank you for come by on my post, Zar...

Thank you, Ver...
Let's Rock!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03