Punk Rock vs Sharia Law

in #aceh7 years ago (edited)

Today I came upon this great video about harsh Sharia Law in Aceh Indonesia. Considering our Steemit network has considerable number of people from Aceh I took it to heart to find out more how deep are those Sharia Laws today.

Judging by so many introduceyorself posts where every woman from Aceh wears hijab I don't think they progressed since then. So I'm wondering is there any progress in people's freedom, how free are they compared to the rest of the world, how different is their reality compared to western more developed countries, how deeply is their religion controlling their lives.

I realize some people love those muslim traditions, but this is a free world and for every westerner here that translates to some kind of oppression. Free yourself, show your faces to the world, we won't bite. Free yourselves from the clutches of some backwards religion.

When I saw this video I felt bad for those people, are they really so oppressed by their government, and how deep is islam embedded in their daily lives. People everywhere want to be free, if you don't allow some liberties most of us enjoy slowly but surely you will have riots on the streets and some serious regime changes will happen, push people beyond their limits and just watch what happens. I don't think many of those regimes realize that.

This video is from 2014. maybe some things changed, I don't know. I'm also a punk rocker and if someone did the same to me, goddamn, shit would go down. There are always options for people, if your state is shitty get the fuck out of there, move you families and go somewhere where you don't need to fear from authorities just because you listen to Sex Pistols.

These kids survived one of the worst tsunamis in human history, their whole families were wiped by the sea, they lost their homes and what does their state do to help, they lock them up and threaten them with knives at their throats because they are punks. Aceh is a beautiful place, I think most people from there want to escape the poverty and judging by their numbers on steemit which are higher than any community in the world I feel they really want to break free.

Good for them.

Sort:  

Wearing a hijab because you want to is fine. Doing it because you will be punished by your government or otherwise abused by those around you if you don't is another thing.

I'm bothered a lot by that another thing.

Watching this makes me sick. I can see now why there are so many people from aceh active on Steemit.

syariat memberikan bimbingan yang lurus agar mereka bisa melaksanakan kegiatan yang baik dengan penampilan yang baik pula. seperti halnya yang sering kita temukan selama ini justru mereka jadi penyakit masyarakat dan ada juga sebagian dari mereka yang berbuat sesuatu yang berguna.

How is listening to a music genre a disease for society? Ok in it's essence punk is a type of rebellion, but it is only a rebellion through songs and the way people dress up. How can someone consider that a threat and a disease is beyond my understanding. If it bothers you just turn the other damn cheek.

Song is beuatifull

nice post.,.,.,.,
received_1796405553986402.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55