Gigantism and dwarfism

in #aceh7 years ago

I have seen with my own eyes what was before unnoticed. Weaver spiders, ie: Nephila pilipes, have females in a large size, and the males are much smaller.

Wikipedia has been review this matter in part: Female gigantism and Male dwarfism.

It's very interesting. So also about their sexual behavior. Unique!

Else, from a scene that I found, I could also see clearly that Nephila pilipes has the ability to wrap the body of its prey with winding threads of silk. This capability is especially useful when the prey has a self-defense tool that is dangerous, like a bee that has stung; or if you want to keep the spiders prey some time while waiting for the moment that is preferred to enjoy it later. (I quote this information from this source)


And these are the pictures that I took at a garden in Aceh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40