You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Web Accessibility - Clickable Objects and Screen Readers

in #accessibility6 years ago

Great post. You wrote not just about the problem, but also about the possible fix of it.

I think most websites are designed for people with full visual capabilities. Then, some day, someone arrives to the office and watches a video about accessibility and the convinces their designers that something must be done on their site.

Let's hope someone do something on it on Busy. Meanwhile, they are an open source project; may I suggest you to open a issue on their GitHub repository?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I've been considering opening an issue at Busy's GitHub. Or maybe I could report the problem through Utopian? I've read that Utopian is really strict and has very high standards, and I still haven't managed to gather the courage to try it out yet :P . Before reporting the problem to Busy, maybe I should try to find the fix for it too.

While we are at it, where is Busy's upvote button? Is it below the post? From the HTML I looked at, I noticed some things that seem to be icons and thought the upvote button might be in there, but I'm not sure. Is there a downvote button too? I couldn't find it. And Busy seems to have a feature to bookmark posts (at least it has a bookmarks section in the menu), but I still couldn't find an option to bookmark posts anywhere. I wonder if this is also hidden behind an icon.

Yes. Busy shows the upvote button after the post body. They use a hand instead, like Facebook does.

Downvote is located in a menu. But as text, not as an icon. Before opening the post, that menu is shown as three dots near the upvote button and rewards and comments count. When the post is opened, the same menu is shown near the post title. The bookmark is also included in that pop up menu.

On the github topic. There is no need to wait until having the fix for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the explanation!

I hadn't known about that popup menu with downvote and bookmark. My screen reader can't find it at all, and Firefox's HTML inspector also gives me no clues. It sounds like these issues may be even worse than I had thought...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77