You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Sound Of My Voice is immune To Social Divide, Listen—“Hello.”

in #accent5 years ago

100?! I think 99 is plenty.

Just yesterday a lady asked me, more like a young girl, “Awview a loit-uh?” Again, I had to say “excuse me?”

Well, sentences are often backward here, add the British accent and that’s when I’m saying “excuse
Me?” I’ve had to ask 4 and 5 times... “one more time, please?”

See, If someone asks me for a lighter, I would be accustom to it sounding like “do you have a lighter?” whereas here, the dialect switches a few words around so they say “have you a lighter?” Well, now if you read that sentence in the first paragraph, ‘Awview’ is “have you” with a British accent and ‘loit-uh’ is “lighter.” .....Awview a loit-uh?

Add slangs and that’s when I’m asking 4 and 5 times. “Tricks,” for example. I’ve had a few people, a checker at a cash register for example, “tricks?” I now know tricks means ‘how’s it goin?’

Chuckin’ means raining. Quid means pound, you really wanna learn that one, don’t get your money messed up. They call their currency here pound and/or quid, that’s an important one to remember.

Yeah ok, I think this response is lengthy enough now.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Yeah ok, I think this response is lengthy enough now.

Yes...lengthy enough, and with my two cents being thrown into the mix, maybe we both should get off the subject that we'd easily spend another three weeks humorously harping on...???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45