I Love Acapulco. The Rough Edges.

in #acapulco6 years ago (edited)

Namaste.

I luv Aca.jpeg

I love Acapulco. I do. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have my head about me. Just a tidbit more on myself to give you a basis from where I’m coming from. I spent almost ten years playing the role of indentured slave to the US government on what I thought was a four year commitment. I signed up at the ripe age of 17. In fact, it was the day of my 17th birthday that I made a point. I was making a decision at the very first opportunity, and was so confident that I was ready to jump in with both feet. At the time, I believed it was a excellent decision.

Needless to say, being reminded of that decision everyday for ten years, I do my due diligence when it comes to making big commitments. I don’t regret learning that lesson, I just cringe that it took that long to burn it into my soul. This is a fundamental lesson.

So as a duty to my reader I’m going to go into real negatives to demonstrate my balanced approach to collecting information and coming to a conclusion. I want it to be clear, I’ve been observant, and I use a high acuity of discernment.

So, firstly, let’s talk plainly about the mainstream media’s claim that Acapulco is one of the most dangerous places on the planet. I will admit there is some machismo boost from living in a place with a title like that. Being known as a man living on the very edge does sound exciting and adventurous. But honestly I’d consider myself an egomaniac if I wasn’t honest. It just doesn’t live up to that title.

Murders do happen here. I’ve seen pictures of some grizzly scenes in places I’ve been around the city. On several occasions encountered a situation where they were still scrubbing the blood off the street as I passed by. However that extreme of human behavior is balanced off by the vast majority of people skewing to the opposite side of that spectrum, being very kind and attentive. You just don’t find a place and folks like this. Good people know what to do when something bad happens.

If that statement is hard to swallow. I’ll give you an example. On one occasion, late one night, my trusted friend and driver and I were headed home on a local road. A rider of a scooter coming from the other direction, lost control and crashed right in the middle of the road. Almost instantaneously, every car pulled off and within mere seconds a crowd of people gathered and helped the rider, picked up his bike and belongings, brushed him off, inspected him for wounds and declared him good to go. This is the level of respect regularly given to peaceful and especially foreign peaceful people. If people only knew what they were missing...

The ugliest thing for me initially and visually, being an Anarchist, was there appears to be a heavy warlike military presence. Trucks laden with squads and platoons of soldiers and well armed police regularly travel up and down the main boulevard. Patrols are regularly walking along the streets, making clear their presence is known. I’m sure that sounds and seems rather distasteful, if so, I know where you’re at. Savor that sense. I’m going to take you from there.

The reality is, and most Anarchist are much more attuned to this, it’s much like the rest of government, all show and no substance. It’s just more apparent and clear in Acapulco. The soldiers are most typically under paid conscripts, simply doing what their told. Commanders and officers are reluctant to even distribute ammunition for fear that their men don’t respect their allegiances or decision making. What this leads to for the typical Anarchist (I’ve had this conversation with more than a few of them) or any other visitor bold enough is the experience where a government official of some sort stops them for something that although not harmful would be illegal most other places in the world. They learn quickly they can stand on their own authority and say “No, gracias!” and just walk away. Or even friendlier, insisting the inquiring official take 50 pesos to get themselves lunch and be on their way. Believe me it works, every time. That is such a liberating and empowering experience I wish, every person could have it. It’s a welcome mat or right of passage to being a real adult human in a real civilized society! Seriously.

Consider the knowledge that the distribution of force in Acapulco is such that no one, not the government, not the police force, not the military, not even the cartels or any of the heads of those organizations feel safe enough to believe they have ultimate authority over others. The top government officials don’t go anywhere without a well armed contingent in armored vehicles. They already know they need to tread carefully wherever they go. You see no one in the police force or the military knows what the allegiance is of the person standing next to them. Unit cohesion gets weak in Acapulco quickly, I won’t mention how that happens but it’s clear it does.

Almost naturally, with that distribution of force, peaceful well meaning individuals end up welcome and actually being safer than even some of the “safest” places on the planet. Being a foreigner in a place where they love and respect foreigners, especially in Acapulco, is indeed a very nice place to be. It may sound crazy and completely opposite of the media’s tales, but it’s true, to me, it’s like a warm nest.

In addition, much like the rest of the world’s lower and middle classes. Acapulco’s prosperity has been on a slow road out of town since the 70's. Most of the properties have seen their better days, they appear rundown and hastily maintained. Sidewalks are often broken and displaced. But in the words of a fellow Anarchist, “the nature of Acapulco’s beauty can’t be passed over. It’s constantly growing back and breaking through.” Acapulco is one of those places in the world where the scenery is so mesmerizing it can take you away at the drop of a hat. Especially the sunrises and sunsets. We'll talk about Acapulco’s outlook for prosperity in future articles. I’ll just summarize it by saying I see very good days ahead.

To add to the review of the senses, much like many cities, deep within their bowels is the acrid smells that only a city can generate. Acapulquenos seem a bit less embarrassed about where those smells might wander. But there’s another side to that spectrum as well. Nature does still weave it’s way back to one’s nostrils. The pleasant scents of nature are just as forceful, fresh Pacific air is always nearby. A light gust all that’s necessary to remind one that nature is near.

The noise and sounds of Acapulco are probably the hardest for Westerners to get used to. Acapulquenos are much like many Mexicans. They love their music very loud. I’ll repeat, VERY LOUD. They don’t seem to even consider that someone would think of it any other way. Fireworks, sirens and horns certainly accentuate the city environment. But when one considers the intent behind those noises, the people behind those noises, it’s almost like a celebration of being alive. It makes it much more understandable and if one familiarizes themselves enough, almost whimsical. Acapulquenos do take time to enjoy their lives regularly and loudly.

20161227_071332.jpg

I don’t want to go on too long, but I want to give the reader enough to be able to get a good feel for what Acapulco’s scarier side represents and how it feels to live here, even on a bad day. Yes, there are days the sun is too bright and it’s uncomfortably hot and humid. There are days that the power fails and the internet doesn’t work. But even those serve as a reminder that one is living in one of the most beautiful places one could ever find themselves in. One can try hard to dwell on difficulties here, but with a simple deep breath and a good pan of the scenery, one has to admit, it’s just ain’t that bad to be alive here. That’s just a sliver of the magic Acapulco has.

I hope you enjoy my perspective, please feel free to comment or ask questions. This is an ongoing series that will lead up to next year’s Anarchapulco. I’m happy to announce that I will be doing a workshop during Anarchapulco focused on mainly on raising the entrepreneurial spirit of Anarchist entitled “Anarchy: A Declaration of Expectations”. If you’re a Anarchist, Voluntaryist or even a liberal, conservative or libertarian that loves freedom and the free market. I’m promising an experience that will blow the doors off any business workshop you’ve experienced before. It’s going to equate to a year’s worth of work in one day. Big claims. Big risks. Be rewards. That’s how it is in Acapulco.

Next time I’m going to talk about some of the potential Acapulco has in store in the future. If there’s a place in the world to weather the storm that’s coming as a result of the bubble economics, debt financing, and government mis-allocations… Acapulco is one place, at the very least, that should be considered.

I’m here to help.

pagebreak.jpeg

I strive to be a Peacemaker, an Entrepreneur and a Ambassador for Great Ideas (ie a Problem solver). I also wish to be a Artist, a Mentor and an Ethicist one day. At times I struggle to communicate the passions I have but I endeavor to do so meaningfully from my heart to others. All as I enjoy my life as a never-ending vacation in a place I adore. I care about what I do, I care about the people I do it with and I leave the rest to fall into place. ~ MikeonFire

Sort:  

Very nice article Mike!

What’s the cost of living there?

A third of the US

....but you can live even cheaper than that if you watch you pesos

1/3 is cheap enough thanks!

This is literally the article I was hoping to find! Haha I have so much respect for people who take the leap and move away from the US like this considering how we're taught that America is the (insert positive superlative here); so kudos to you, Mike!

I have so many questions. What brought you there? What did you start off with? How did you find a place to live? What do you do for work? I'm definitely considering a move to Acapulco next year, but I'm waiting for Anarchapulco to see it for myself. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Appreciate the kind words. I have a few of those answers but I'd say its one of those places you just need to experience to really find what speaks to you. This is a different culture, things are different, it's not going to be the same as where your coming from... and all those things are considerations. But I will say I do love this place!

I came for the first Anarchapulco... and never left!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29