Fun Video to Engage Children in Reading and Literacy Activities...

in #academiaspotlight8 years ago (edited)


Hi friends, being a Kindergarten teacher I am always looking for creative ways to engage my students in learning. At a Kindergarten level, we start exposing children to sight words. Sight words are words that children learn by recognition, i.e., what the word looks like. Since sight words do not follow the phonics rules, children cannot really sound them out to decode the word. Therefore sight words are taught by repeated exposure so the recognition of the words gets instilled in the memory.
Daily sight words drills with flash cards are highly recommended to teach sight words but they get boring and children start losing interest.
So in my lovely Kindergarten class, I created the video below where a cute funny cartoon hovers and points to the words for children to read along. So, instead of me playing the teacher role and pointing and going over the words, children practice reading the words with Mr. Toon as I call it.
(Believe me Mr. Toon gets more attention from children than I do!)
If you have a child in Kindergarten, this might be an engaging way for them to practice learning the sight words. Check out the video below. If you do like it, I can post more videos that I created for my class that cover a different set of sight words.
Since the words are not read aloud in the video, you’ll need to review the words with the child before letting them read and practice on their own. In my class, since I have already reviewed the words with children, they are all able to read the words together. If any child does not know the word, he/she quickly catches up by listening to other children reading the words and of course the build in repetition helps too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40