You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving my PhD research to Steemit/我決定要把我的博士研究移到Steemit上了!

in #academia8 years ago

I wrote an habilitation thesis 3 years ago, which was 267 pages long. It is a kind of thesis after the thesis (where you have reports and a committee judging the work). The 8 people of the committee have read it, and 3 people have cited this work. So I guess it was useful for about 10 people. It however took me 1.5 years to write.

When I decided top start this work, I wanted to introduce a concept (supersymmetry) and demonstrate how it arises from basic theoretical principles and show how it is searched for experimentally. Basically, detailing the bridge linking theory to the experiments in my field of research.

I believed it could be useful for people who wanted to take the time to learn how physics deeply work. 3 citations...

Sort:  

I wrote an habilitation thesis 3 years ago, which was 267 pages long. It is a kind of thesis after the thesis (where you have reports and a committee judging the work). The 8 people of the committee have read it, and 3 people have cited this work. So I guess it was useful for about 10 people. It however took me 1.5 years to write.

When i was doing my Masters and PhD, I used to be guilty of reading my books for leisure because I feel that if i were reading, i should be reading my papers. And now that i have a few books to read for leisure, now it is hard for me to concentrate in a book with limited time and attention. Alwasy distracted by kids, electronic gadgets, steemit (LOL) etc. In short, sometimes, i am not sure if the thesis model is still applicable today in this changing world where people has limited time and usually pay very little attention.

When equations matter, I guess that there are no other options. You need to sit down and work calmly to understand the concepts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43