You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemians! I am moving my PhD research to Steemit!

in #academia8 years ago (edited)

This is interesting. I finished my PhD years ago so I know how the system works. You spend years doing interesting research. Then finally you manage to write a good article. You send it to a journal. But the journal isn't doing much. They just send your paper for review to other scientist they know are important in the field. Than these scientist review it and if they all say you paper is good, then the journal publishes the paper.

But the journal does absolutely nothing. The review proces is free for them. I also received many emails to review papers. Of course, I never got paid for reviewing. Not that I mind reviewing it for free. The problem is that these journals later on sell these papers for big money. That's what I hate. Scientists are doing all this work for free, but 1 greedy journal is getting tons of money.

Steemit could solve this problem. We should make scientific communities here on Steemit and to the delegation work the journals are doing and then if the papers are reviewed, they can be put here online for free.

Sort:  

Yes, i used to do peer reviews for free as well until one day, i realized why am i staying up till the wee hours of the night. Then i started to reject the requests. I did got a certificate of appreciation from a journal publisher though. Hopefully steemit can also amass a scientific community. I think it will be valuable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64757.47
ETH 3506.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47