My Reading List From 2016

in #academia7 years ago

                      

There's not a whole lot to this. I'm simply using Steemit as my  e-diary and personal log so I can eliminate some of the paper clutter  in my life. I want to keep a track of all the books I have read as each new year passes. 

Here's my list from 2016:

1) The Innovator's Solution - Clayton Christensen and Michael Raynor

2) Playing to Win: How Strategy Really Works - A.G. Lafley and Roger L. Martin

3) Winning The Loser's Game - Charles D. Ellis

4) Plato Republic - G.M.A. Grube

5) HBR's 10 Must Reads on Making Smart Decisions

6) Letters to a Young Contrarian - Christopher Hitchens

 7) Man's Search For Meaning - Viktor E. Frankl

8) The Element - Ken Robinson

9) The Moment of Clarity - Christian Madsbjerg and Mikkel Rasmussen

10) The Art of Contrary Thinking - Humphrey B. Neill

11) The Greatest Salesman in the World - Og Mandino

12) Moments of Impact - Chris Ertel and Lisa Kay Solomon

Sort:  

Do you read approximately 1 book monthly? How do you choose which books to read?

Funny you mention that. I didn't plan on having a one per month average, it just sort of worked out that way. One month I would read three books and others I wouldn't read at all. It really came down to how motivated I was at that particular time.

I try to balance my reading between business and philosophy. If I really like an author, typically they have other suggested readings in the back, or they mention people who have inspired them within their book. It's the same principle as going on YouTube: you start watching "cat videos" and somehow end up watching "how to make magic mushrooms in your pressure cooker at home." Half of the fun is going along for the ride. This helps me create a backlog of stuff to look into also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62