You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-Plagiarism and Dishonesty on Steemit / Is Self Promotion Okay?

in #abuse7 years ago

I don't think up-voting your own post or bot voting makes you try any less. personally i save my bot votes for posts that i've worked hard on and i want to see succeed. for example I wrote a benefit post for someone, and i bot voted the heck out of it, because it was a gift. for many, bot voting is merely a form of investment. You invest one sbd then receive two; this is a good investment, especially for a minnow who hasn't gotten much notice yet or who has little to invest into buying steem.

as for self plagiarism, it's done all the time. i've seen magazine articles posted in multiple places on line, or recycled years later as a slightly different article. if it's ok for professional writers to do this, why should it not be ok on steemit? imho i think it is ethical to say something. however many posts that were created when the author was new to steemit and earned pennies the first time around do deserve a second shot. especially if the post has quality work.

authors who post the same thing several times fall into two categories; noobs who havent caught on, or those who re-post in order to make money and dont give a shit because its just business to them. these people tend to mutually upvote friends for profit. you won't stop that kind of crap, so my advice is to ignore it.

Sort:  

Hello @torico,

I've had a different experience before when up voting my own posts days on end. My mentality completely derailed into; "what should I post today, surely it'd good enough for me to vote on", and I wouldn't be as compelled to write amazing pieces. I spend a good amount of time on each article I write, and sometimes, my posts are good- but only to me xD

Using votes on others, whether on a post where rewards go to them, or their own posts is admirable. Helping out another author is a great use for these services.

The part that remains a mystery to me is that I believed Steemit's goal was to build a solid database on the blockchain with innovative content not found in other places. Maybe I have that wrong idea, and the goal is to create a hub and a person can bring all of their experiences here instead? I'm aware that professional writers paste the same article in a multitude of places, or even throw small spins on them. Yet, I still feel that is misleading to copy/paste the whole thing without saying anything at all to the reader.

I feel you on the people who do it for profit, being able to pin down something like that takes a lot of manpower and can't be easily determined. I only did the extra digging after finding multiple instances of other offenses from the same account.

Thank you for the advice as well,
@shello

You just summarized it all! One day I really wish I'll reach a level I won't even have to use upvote bots anymore. I'm still finding that niche :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61746.46
ETH 3447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50