#MeToo? Nahh #MenToo is what we need

in #abuse7 years ago

Women are constantly encouraged to talk about sexual experiences they deem negative, it is men who are ridiculed for saying they didn't appreciate a sexual encounter or were outright abused.

It is men who are made to feel like they are stealing attention from those who really need it, women, or are weak crying babies for complaining.

I am transgender and I never had an issue speaking about the issues women face but the minute I started saying #MenToo all of the sudden I started siding with oppressors and internalizing oppression...

Honestly I can't say I've experienced what I consider to be sexual violence, words don't count to me, but the closest I've been has happened in the context of women thinking they can't get profiled as a sexual predator and taking advantage of that.

They say the whole #MeToo initiative is to make people aware of the magnitude of the issue women face in regards to sexual violence but don't we spend money in that already? Don't we have surveys and scientific studies? Don't we have shelters and safe spaces? Don't we dedicate part of the budget on pretty much every nation to helping the defenseless women?

Again, women don't need more encouragement to speak of sexual violence, isn't that pretty much all feminism does? It is men who are in dire need of friendly ears and compassionate hearts.

Sort:  

It shouldn't be about who needs it more or less. I'm fine with mentoo, but I saw some men using the metoo hashtag as well.

Both seem pretty silly in a way a hashtag for healing? Therapy might be more effective. lol.

It shouldn't be, you're right. But the main excuse for opposing men to take these opportunities to speak about their experiences comes from people who believe women suffer most from this type of violence. That's why I'm writing this, because while more men are coming out about this there are still people who think it's wrong to do so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79