SteemFlagRewards Distinctions - Community Highlight From DiscordsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steem Flag Force!

I noticed a new abuse fighter join our Discord Server and saw it as an opportunity to offer a few distinctions that make the SteemFlagRewards project unique and valuable to the overarching Steem communities.

I didn't intend to post this as I have been planning on a more grandiose posting series of SteemFlagRewards standards, literature and strategic doctrine but I happen to be a bit of a perfectionist at times so tend to take a while to get on with these sort of things.

It is good that I have colleagues like @steemseph that would push me to be a bit more decisive when I would otherwise limit the audience. He recommended I share the description that I already shared on Discord. I am obliging this request in this post. I will write my own commentary on these points to further expound and/or clarify.

image.png

  1. We deal with a wider scope of abuse to include voting abuse. @steemcleaners has a lot on their plate already so we try to supplement their ops.

Specifically, we have handled voting abuse such as self-voted comment spam and bid bot misuse. If you notice something that you know is not adding value to the blockchain that fits that criteria, by all means, let us know on Discord and we can coordinate a Flag Op with rewards and leaderboards.

  1. We reward our downvoters with rshares (rep) which serves the benefit of strengthening the anti-abuse community. There are a lot of high rep abusers out there so it behooves us to grow the anti-abuse ranks

This is an integral part of our methdology. As many know, the reputation system is designed so that lower reps cannot affect higher reps. This can be problematic when we have rep 63 individuals like btcvenom engaging in comment spam. Some of my colleagues are equipped to deal with this but the way the system is designed currently it tends to favor the abusers.

SteemflagRewards is one such system intended to tip the scales in the favor of the abuse fighter from plankton to whales. We grant a pathway for low rep accounts to grow via abuse fighting which I believe will make a huge difference for the long game.

  1. We introduced a rank structure into abuse fighting to make things more interesting and add a gaming aspect to it. I have spent more time on flagawhales gaming but, not too many know, that steemflagrewards was the precursor.

We will be bringing this rank structure back with the next flag op. I plan to work on a few scripts to facilitate flag ops to ease the administrative burden. The rank system which will be easier to maintain with the addition of the SFR MySQL database.

Lastly

I do not take payments for my service through @steemflagrewards so everything I do is essentially a donation to what I and others believer is the well-being of the network. I am very grateful for all that acknowledge and provide feedback for the work. Also, I am thankful for all who are equally passionate about fighting abuse. The account could very much use delegated voting power in order to maintain the level of incentive we provide abuse fighters and also be equipped to handle counter flags when they do occur. (and they most assuredly do)

BOLO for the next update. The SteemFlagRewards Bot is getting an significant upgrade. Finally! (I know)

Thanks for reading and supporting!

Sort:  

Nice to read more about your excellent work. :) Resteeming so others can learn, follow and support you! Best regards from Thailand. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87