You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-Plagiarism and Dishonesty on Steemit / Is Self Promotion Okay?

in #abuse7 years ago

Thank you for your insightful article, I definitely agree on your understanding of quality content and that original content should be preferred over excessively self-plagiarized content. However, I personally don't think that previous posts on other platforms by yourself should be punished. If people repost quality original content they created somewhere else here, I would appreciate it, since for me it's quality and originality that matter most, not exclusiveness.

I believe in the idea of steemit because of fair distribution of value to those who created it, not necessarily in "getting married" exclusively to steemit.

Sort:  

Thank you for your reply @raci,

The post is still new to you, so what is the difference? I really like that thought -But in introducing a form of currency to the system makes me feel weary about doing so. I mean, your boss at your job isn't going to pay you now for an 8 hour shift you did 3 years ago.

This is where I'm coming from.

People shouldn't feel like they are married to Steemit, but I still feel that recycling can get out of hand, with less new articles actually being made over time. Steemit owes us nothing as authors, do we not owe it effort and new content too?

Yes, I totally agree with that. Original content exclusively created for steemit should always be higher rewarded and people should have an incentive for doing so. For instance, I really like the idea of the steemit open mic contest where you have to create a video specifically for the contest

Thank you @raci,

but the problem is how to determine if something is new, things can slide under the radar. I think that "for Steemit content" should also receive more recognition. We see it in contests all the time, but not in the actual posts.

I think it's easier to determine original content if you explicitly call for it (e.g. by having a writing contest, music contest, picture contest) on steemit. Steemit itself as a platform needs to foster creativity by creating contests and conditions that spark creativity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.57
ETH 3030.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26