You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Non-GumpyCompliant vote sellers are now to be used exclusively to profit from the reward pool!

in #abuse7 years ago

Maybe I don't get it, but I'll say something about what everyone else (including @grumpycat) doesn't get. The purpose of downvotes is not to correct voting bots. Downvotes are to correct rewards. I think we all look at them wrong when it comes to @grumpycat. We think

Oh, whatever @grumpycat thinks is right

But in reality, the downvote is intended to adjust the payout to what the community thinks is appropriate. By completely negating a bot's influence we forget the see if we're actually adjusting the payout to what is appropriate or not. What ends up happening is a guy like me that wants to get what has coming to him uses a bot to adjust his payout to be proportionate to his effort. Here's an example:

I spend several hours in the sun to make sure no one gets my prime spot for taking a sunset photo. I sit and wait in the AZ heat and sun for hours with no shade with my camera that I really can't afford. I finally get a series of photos that I post on steem thinking people will appreciate with some upvotes. I notice that I'm not getting upvotes. Why? I have no followers and I have mostly no steem power compared to anyone else. I get a voting bot to help me out and push the vote up so more people will see it and so I can get paid for the hours I spent in the sun.

@grumpycat comes along and wipes it out down to $5. $5 for hours in the sun.

I get @grumpycat is trying to change the community and hit the voting bots, but voting bots and their management don't care. The only ones getting hurt are content creators. Voting bots will survive, but we suffer and die. It's not voting bots killing us. It's @grumpycat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59762.43
ETH 2663.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41