You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-Plagiarism and Dishonesty on Steemit / Is Self Promotion Okay?

in #abuse7 years ago

Nice article @shello!

However, there was no indicators or citations that this whole article was already published before.

I don't mind people re-posting from their own blogs/sites much. I do, however, expect them to be upfront about it. When I started out here, I re-posted the recipes I had already shared on my Wordpress blog, but I was always clear about that. Now, I do it the other way around. Steemit first, Wordpress second. Mainly because Steemit eats so much of my time that I don't usually keep my Wordpress site up to date.

Sort:  

Thank you @playfulfoodie,

Not being upfront was a big factor for me. As Steemit climbs to larger userbases, finding and curating content will become more difficult to do. There are many authors spending hours and days on posts only to be beaten by a 100% copy/paste. I feel being upfront is a demonstration of respect to readers and this platform, and I'm glad to hear your recipes are Steemit first!

What bothers me is that the anti plagiarism checks and crawlers didn't find it at all, and it took manual effort to find out that this was completely recycled but being treated with the same respect as being new.

I feel that being allowed to import all your work without noting it, removes the unique appeal that Steemit holds, downgrading it to just another platform with cryptocurency :c

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52