Annoying Coworker

in #abuse6 years ago


27707 / Pixabay

From Reddit user Ladymmj

Hello all. I started a new job and I didn't disclose my hearing issues in the interview but I did wear my hair up with my hearing aids on full display. I got the job and am now 2 weeks in. One of my coworkers is not my favorite, he tends to talk down to others and loves to make jokes at others expense. Today he came up behind me and jingled his keys right next to my ear, right above my hearing aid which of course made a horrible noise right into my ear for me. I somewhat snapped and told him off for doing that right in my hearing aid. He apologized profusely and said he didn't know I had a hearing aid. I'm wondering if I should let this go or say something to our boss. I'm all for fun and games but I would rather not have this happen again and I'm not entirely sure he didn't know I have hearing aids as I wear my hair up most days.
And further in the post as a comment
One of the examples of him talking down is a woman in the office will ask him to do something which is her job and he will question or just not do anything she says. We also have an adult living with disabilities working with us and he will often repeat what she says in a mocking tone or ask if we heard her when she asks abnormal questions.
And again
One of my coworkers told me she can't stand how he talks to her. I'll talk to her today about documenting her experiences and I'll start documenting mine.
Just goes to show you there are assholes, that's needless to say I'm sure, but in these kinds of situations, it's best to literally speak to your manager or go to HR with the report. It's likely the asshole coworker already definitely knew the hearing aid was there and was simply seeing if she could hear it which is even bigger of a dickhead move.

It's unfortunate things like that happen, and they're going to happen regardless. Your best move when things like this example happen is to simply report it to HR and management so they can investigate and put in proper procedures to correct the coworker's behavior. It's the path that if it continues, they have to do something about it or face potential lawsuits.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://cryptodeaf.cloudaccess.host/2018/11/annoying-coworker/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59