You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Imitation maybe the best form of flattery but Plagiarism is not

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)

This is an important issue to address. We need to squash the notion that copyright is an antiquated ideal in the digital era. It simply isn't. Work is work. Stealing is stealing. It must be addressed and sooner rather than later.
I've had my intellectual property (video and song) stolen by a multi-millionaire to advertise his very famous world-wide audio engineering schools (which ironically teach copyright in their courses!! Lol!).
There were others that also had their works stolen in the same case. We couldn't pursue justice with it because he had a multimillion dollar law firm defending him which threatened the livelihoods of several of us involved. He basically got away with it because he had power and money.
It felt crap for all of us.
I've also had famous musicians directly steal lines from my shows and style of my music yet reach far greater success than I. That's ok, to a degree. That's the imitation is flattery side of things because inovators will get copied. It only irks me when an audience member comes to me and says something like "Oh, you're just like such-and-such." (eyes roll)
Anyway, great article post!

Sort:  

I agree especially now in the age of the internet that we should be more aware of not citing or directly copying someone's work.

Someone took the time, effort and creative process in doing something and by using that to profit is just wrong.

Yes the music industry is rife with this as artist's sample other artists work and even style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72