You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SCIENCE Tag SPAMMERS & Other ABUSERS +++ a CLEANUP PROJECT Launched +++

in #abuse7 years ago

Good luck with that. The main category I curate is #science, and I have muted more than 100 of accounts because of being tired of the spam... I hope you will succeed!

Sort:  

It'll be super difficult and very time consuming as I realised when going through just to top 35 accounts using the science tag. It is sometimes also hard to determine the fine line between use and abuse. We will need to re-visit our methods, for sure.

In my case, I systematically block anyone posting more than 3 posts a day. The reason is simple: it is better to spend time on quality than quantity. And it is hard to believe someone writing 3 top-notch posts per day. At least in my opinion.

I agree with you, especially when writing about complex topcis like science. Some of the Steemians copy/paste a part of the article and link to the article in Internet and claim it is science, even when it is technology. Anyway, because of all the spam in many of the tags, I hardly look at the tags. Also because of all the spam in my HOME channel, I dont look at that channel as well, therefore only follow favourite writers (through bookmarks, and browser plugin SCT) and from time to time I use Esteem.Life where I created special filtered channels to discover new writers. Long story short, due to all the spam, it is harder for any writer that I do not follow to get noticed by me. I'm afraid many Steemians have similar approach, there giving lower chances to the new accounts in our community to get notices. I simply wished the collective would understand the results of their own behaviour, which in the end bits themselves.

The steemstem channel helps me a lot. But I agree the loopholes are just huge :(

Steemstem is doing a good job; also in keeping their tag clean.

We however cannot prevent spammers to use it (although we have the chance it has not been discovered by them so far ;) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.18
ETH 3310.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70