You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will the real sock puppet please stand up

in #abuse8 years ago

I appreciate this post. I understand and believe you when you say you won't reply but I do think there is a good chance you'll read this.

I'm a newbie. I don't follow cryptocurrency. I am not the least bit interested in anarcho-anything. The blockchain meant nothing to me. But then I saw an article -- maybe your handiwork -- and was intrigued enough to join.

I'm still intrigued enough to be writing this now. However, I am not as intrigued as I was a month ago and, just as much as you played a part in my early interest you also played a part in my waning interest. That is not a complaint or condemnation, just a statement of my fact.

Every action you took may have been backed by the best of intentions -- at this point the only thing clear to me is that nothing is clear to me. That's on me. But it is also on you, and the people (accounts) with you, and on the people (accounts) against you. And on the platform itself.

This is not social media. Social media is driven socially. By people. You point out very clearly that you believe this platform and the people on it should have no issue with people having multiple accounts and using them as they see fit. The code allows. So, the code condones.

That may be great overall but it's not great for me. I was excited by 'anonymous openness' but I am turned off by 'condoned obfuscation'. Again not a judgement but a clarification of my own position.

I began here with the idea that good curation would be rewarded -- that was then shot down by a post by Dan that clarified that curation was a game for the rich. I continued with the idea that good commenting could be rewarded -- that was then shot down, in no small part by you, by purposely or not funneling daily rewards to chosen people(accounts). I remained interested because I could interact with people who were not my "friends". Even anarchists! But then people became 'maybe people'.

What's left -- why would a non-blogger non-anarchist non-sp-holder continue to visit steemit? After all, I think that describes not just me, but also just about everyone else in the world?

I am still here. Just running out of reasons why. Help me identify the next reason to stay.

Sort:  

Where else can you obtain some cryptotoken by merely participating in a platform?

Today.... nowhere..... tomorrow..... that's why there needs to be a better answer than this.

"by merely participating in a platform?"

What do you mean merely? Why is producing unique web content being minimized here? Pretty much any other crypto currency that launches rewards people for participating. There is always a chance to earn coins by participating. Usually in the form of mining or bounties.

Steemit's barrier to participating may be lower than others but the actual work involved in making any real money isn't easy unless you have a few whale friends like @kushed to make sure you get a head start.

Beyond curation being a game for the rich, mining is rigged and liquidity rewards are gone too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44