You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jaguar Force Expands

in #abuse5 years ago (edited)

453453.png
https://ar.pinterest.com/pin/750904937846396982/?lp=true
sdffdf.png
https://steemit.com/abuse/@jaguar.force/jaguar-force-expands

As was said before we dont enforce or agree with copyright laws in general,
we fight deception and plagiarism.
the image is linked to, as Steemcleaners rules specify.

Thank you for your opinion

Sort:  

Using someone else’s photos or text without linking to the original source etc.
You did NOT LINK TO THE ORIGINAL SOURCE! You linked to a rip-off that itself has no source link.
So I could just rip off something, post it on Pinterest, then make a post on Steemit and link to that Pinterest image? But I know, I am arguing with fools here.
In fact, Pedro's images can only be stolen with a screenshot, if you go to his original image and right-click, you get a copyright notice. Like on this one, which I dedicate to you:
http://pedrojarque.com/photo/59547/3010

Actually many artist use a Pinterest image as a source (as that’s where they got it from) and then no one would be going after the artist here... as the platform is just asking to get credit to where you saw it, not trace its original source. @teammoney is a great example of that.. they copy other people’s work.. add a bit of detail on it and then leave a small link. Is it something I want to support? Nope, and I don’t.. but they don’t have steemcleaners after them. Most of the artists who are crying foul in this whole thing could use the same loop hole, but they choose not to.. they want to just say it’s their original work as that will get them more rewards, and there is the problem.

So no, it’s not about policing the platform.. it’s about trying to get artists and authors alike to give credit to what source they were “inspired” from.. and my gosh if they truly made it their own (like I think his name is Arthurgain who paints stunning portraits of tv characters) then hell yes I want to reward it. But if it’s a crappy trace with a few details drawn over the top.. it’s not going to get the same reward.. but it would receive a bit more for “effort” if they claim its their original. It’s all about money unfortunately and some people will do what they can to get it.

We (curators) just want to reward it for what it is, whether it’s an original or a trace. No one is trying to say what is allowed and what’s not, but deceiving curators and users alike to get more rewards very much is frowned upon. You can feel free to still support them, but many may not.

The fact is, we all want the same thing. We want Steem to be full of creative individuals sharing their works and we want those stealing others works to be brought to light. It’s just that appropriation can be a grey area at times, and it’s something we can all work together to fix. The fight just has to stop first.

Otto, I can understand, why you are so upset, but this debate is not going anywhere. Of course one cannot just ripp something from the web. But you have to give the devil credit, the copyright thingy is on the picture.

For two years now, I'm practicing aikido. OK, bloody beginner. But I understand, that deescalation is part of the philosophy, and it is also, what I am trying to do here.

We have all been alienated by yaguar.forces drill sergeant tone, but getting back with an equally aggressive approach will not make things better. Only the opposite... You know, it might be a bad comparison, but just a few moments ago, I was thinking of the dawn of first world war. Nobody wanted to listen to the voices of reason. Everyone threatens everyone and before you know it, the (steem)world is up in flames. Is that what we want?

I can see, that one can actually reason with jaguar.force and it seems the debate can actually be a lot more reasonable, than it is right now. I'm trying to get some pressure off the sail, before our ship capsizes with all of us.

NTopas has made a good post with guidelines, all parties can agree upon. Why not take it from there?

He is not associated with nTopaz, and on there, we discussed this issue extensively in private messages (I withdrew from the curation team because of time restraints, but am still in discussions with the team).
I am sorry, but I am not Neville Chamberlain - appeasing and ducking is not my style either.
Bullies and Trolls will continue unabated unless you stand up to them!
Maybe I wasted too much time with this, should go back to my old meme:
10904373_10152424538592470_1855231009_n.jpg
I created this meme from a photo of Clint Eastwood which later I posted on my facebook and in related messages, because trolls are on there in large numbers as well.

Yeah well... isn't this taking up way too much energy from us as well?

I'm not talking about ducking and appeasing. I talk about a willingness to come to a conclusion that works instead of letting something escalate to the point, where it will definitely not work.

I'm all for standing up, for what you think is a good cause. Its just the means, how one goes about it. Arguing and being aggressive usually only lead to more of just that, don't you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48