You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Imitation maybe the best form of flattery but Plagiarism is not

in #abuse6 years ago

This is a topic that strikes a nerve in me like very few can. It bugs me so much, I think, because no individual with even a modicum of intelligence, honesty or experience should ever, ever, think plagiarism or copyright is an outmoded philosophy or protection. In fact, it shouldn't even be a question. People should leave their grubby little mitts off of other people's stuff unless they've been given express written consent to use it and only use it within those parameters and for absolutely nothing else.

All that needs to happen to turn this argument on its head is this. How would you feel if, after all your hard work creating something, someone else made money off of it and you didn't? What if that happened multiple times a week over the course of your working lifetime? How would that make you feel? Would you be okay with that? Would you be okay with it if it meant you couldn't make ends meet, you were destitute and begging for food on the streets?

Anyone who makes a pro-plagiarism argument must have no talent of their own, and only wants to enrich themselves off the work of others. Period. That person is all but admitting that they are incapable of original thought or how to execute it. They are saying that the only way they can make money or compete or be cool or whatever they're attempting to do, is by leeching off the abilities of others.

The digital age shouldn't be the time for this to become a free-for-all. This is when all creativity protections should be doubled down on, because there are no other protections, such as geographical distances, means, security or any other obstacle. Anyone from anywhere, if it's living on the net, can simply appropriate someone else's work. There is no other security without these protections in place.

This is exactly the same mentality that causes people to walk through other people's property to get to a river or some other type of public by way, instead of taking their lazy rear end the long way around. This is exactly the same disregard that anyone has for anyone else's property of any kind.

And, if I could be so bold and actually do some stereotyping, it's usually, not always, but mostly, people who don't have whatever it is they're wanting. It's an, "I breathe, therefore I deserve it" mentality. It's the "I belong to the world" scenario.

I think I'd better stop. Not doing anything here to lose your interpretation of my comments being novels, am I? :) However, this one is a bit longer than most.

Sort:  

The digital age shouldn't be the time for this to become a free-for-all. This is when all creativity protections should be doubled down on, because there are no other protections, such as geographical distances, means, security or any other obstacle. Anyone from anywhere, if it's living on the net, can simply appropriate someone else's work. There is no other security without these protections in place.

I completely agree with you Glen on this just because it is on the net doesn't mean its free picking for anyone.

The discussion went that anyone is free to make use of physical or intellectual property being myths in a scarcity mindset. While I espouse the abundance mindset I cannot put aside that there is still property owned. If we are to remove that right it will be chaos.

Hahahah I know as a content creator you understand and feel passionate about copyright.

Whew. I'm glad to see you finally get to this. You must be pretty busy. I was afraid I'd scared you off with my "passionate more than normal" comment.

It just kind of happened and I got going. When I read it again, I thought maybe I should tone it down, but then I thought, no, because some would be plagiarist out there might read this and might decide maybe I shouldn't, if for nothing more out of fear that this old guy might track him down and let him have it in person. :)

The abundance mindset to me comes from the idea that there is more than enough for everyone, which means you're not taking from anyone because you have your own. So, if you're not taking anything from anyone, you're not stealing their intellectual property, either, because you should have your own of that, too, in one way or another. And if you don't, then you probably should re-evaluate how you're trying to make a living.

Man, I'm going to stop now. It's starting all over again. :)

I have been sick for the past couple of days and not feeling too well so I expect to be knocked out of the league all together hahaha.

I can't type novels disguised as comments like you have hahahha.

But it is always a pleasure to see a comment from you and even if takes me a while to get to it intry my best.

Indeed go on and promise fire and brimstone to plagiarist because that is how I feel to.

I like how you said that having the abundance mindset indeed means that we have more than enough to go around that there is no need to steal another person's work.

It is simply wrong.

I'm sorry to hear you've been sick. That's worse than being overly busy. I hope you've started to feel better.

Well, I think I'll move on from the subject of plagiarism for now. Spiting fire and brimstone is exhausting. Not to mention, not so great for the throat and eyes. :)

Be well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67623.71
ETH 3786.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70