Abstract photos and some of the techniques I use to make them.

in #abstract7 years ago (edited)

I like making unusual abstract photos. Some of the techniques I used for these were found in photography books and magazines, I am always looking for something new to try. Most people use their cameras to take photos of nice scenery or friends and family but it's worth looking for subjects that will make more unusual photos.

Water ripples make interesting abstract. I live near the sea, the best place is a harbour, where the gentle ripples reflect colours of boats. A telephoto lens is good to crop in tight on a small area. These photos show the colours you can get.
1.jpg

2.jpg

This one was taken on a pond in a park, the deep green colours are reflections from tree leaves
3.jpg

If you can't get to water outside, use a bowl of water inside. This is a green bowl filled with water and soap bubbles. I used manual focus to put the lens out of focus and this is what the reflections look like.
4.jpg

Another technique I like is moving the camera during the exposure. You need an exposure long enough to move the camera, so use a small aperture in a dark area, like the woods and experiment. For this one of trees in a forest, I started moving the camera down slowly and pressed the shutter, keeping the camera moving during the exposure.

5.jpg
For these two, I kept the camera still and zoomed the lens out during the exposure.
6.jpg

7.jpg
This is an ordinary photo of tree branches covered in snow against a blue sky. To make it look like this, I just inverted the colours.
8.jpg

Christmas lights can be used to make interesting colourful abstracts. I placed the lights on a black cloth on the ground in a dark room. I stood over the lights and moved the camera around during a 5 second exposure
9.jpg

This one was taken of a row of colourful Christmas street lights at night. I moved the camera slowly during a 1 second exposure.
10.jpg

This is a spinning saucepan lid. I span the lid as fast as I could on the floor and took the photo while it was spinning. The red colour was added later.
11.jpg

If you are on a boring car or train journey, point the cameras outside, keep it near the window to reduce reflections and take a long exposure. It really gives a good impression of speed.
12.jpg

13.jpg

Keep looking for unusual subjects. I found this in a burnt out fire and took the wood home to get a good close up photo.
14.jpg

This long grass looked a nice colour but it was a dull day, so I moved the camera during the exposure to get this effect.
15.jpg

Walking down the road, these amazing rainbow colours from an oil spill caught my attention.
16.jpg

I noticed this cobweb in my garden one morning. The photo looked a bit dull, so I put the lens out of focus and the water droplets looked more interesting. Inverting the colours makes it even more abstract.
17.jpg

18.jpg

Hope you like the photos and make some of your own. Keep looking for those unusual subjects that most people never notice.

To get some of these effects, like inverting colours and adding colour tints, I use Adobe photoshop elements but there are some good free programs, like Paint.NET that can also be used.

Sort:  

It is pretty incredible how you can make normal everyday things look so different. Thanks so much for sharing! Btw I am a curator with the @ocd team and would love.to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

Thanks Max, yes please share my post.

Great, thanks so much for replying back to me. Keep an eye out for the @ocd posts to see if yours was selected!

Congratulations @sharpshot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sharpshot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

awesome job, @samanthajbarnes would enjoy this technique... saw you @OCD / peace (-:

I'm going to have to try some of these.....you are very creative!

Fantastic Photography.... followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97