Kerala - The Place were my Heart is !!

in #aboutmyculture6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys , today I stumbled upon #aboutmyculture contest and I thought why don't I just do it!? So today I am going to try and do this.

First off , I am an Indian , but in India I am from a state which is in the southern most part of India called Kerala also known as God's Own Country. I am from a very orthodox Christian Keralite family , so my customs and cultural point of view might be very different from others. Kerala is known as the land of spices. So, Today I am going to talk about Keralite Food , wow thinking about food is making my stomach grumble .

Let's begin with Breakfast , I feel we have a wide variety of breakfast dishes, here I am going to show you some of my favorite dishes .

  1. Puttu and Kadala Curry -
    Puttu (പുട്ട് )- is basically steamed ground rice with layers of coconut in between. It is prepared in a cylindrical instrument. And Kadala Curry is Chickpeas in a curry form .
    Puttu_and_Kadala_Curry20131126123929_43_1.jpg
    Keralatourism
  2. Idiappam and Egg Roast-
    Idiappam (ഇടിയപ്പം) - Also known as string Hooper's , it basically is rice flower made into noodle form then steamed.You guys all know egg roast right .
    Idiappam_and_Egg_Roast20131126124327_89_1.jpg
    Keralatourism
    3.Appam and Chicken Stew-
    Is infact one of my favorites. It is a form of a pancake . Made with rice batter which is fermented and milk.
    Appam_and_Chicken_Stew20131126121303_88_1.jpg
    Keralatourism
  3. Kappa and Meen Curry -
    Kappa is Tapioca or casava , it's basically boiled and spices added. And Meen Curry is fish curry
    2cd630a2c43423eabbe3f33fc7eea3c8.jpg
    Pinterest

Now Lets move to Lunch!!

  1. Sadhya-
    A vegetarian Sadhya is something which is very much unique to Kerala , because of almost more than 26 different varieties of just vegetarian dishes , served on a banana leaf. I really look forward to a Sadhya , on most special occasions , especially , one of our most celebrated festival , ONAM. And after the Sadhya , usually payasam , which is a desert is also served.
    sadya-640x360.jpg
    Keralatourism

  2. Malabar Chicken Biriyani-
    For Non vegetarians , this is a most loved dish. It is a rice dish. One of my most favorite.
    Malabar_Chicken_Biriyani20131130102437_28_1.jpg
    Keralatourism

Now moving to Deserts,

  1. Payasam (Milk Kheer)-
    This is my favorite dessert dishes made with milk , raisins , cashew nuts ...etc
    Ada_Pradhaman20131116144147_15_1.jpg
    Keralatourism

Now snacks , yum , my favorite,

  1. Vattayappam -
    Steamed rice cake 😍
    Vattayappam20150923112019_153_1.jpg
    Keralatourism

  2. Pazhampori -
    Banana Fritter , I am craving this right now!!
    Pazhampori20131130122441_23_1.jpg
    Keralatourism

  3. Banana Chips -
    Instead of potato chips maybe
    snacks20131125130358.jpg
    Keralatourism

Now coming to my one favorite drink,

  1. Karikkin vellam -
    Coconut water , filled with a lot of vitamins and minerals. So tasty , so natural , so hydrating. 573_Is-Drinking-Coconut-Water-Safe-For-Diabetics_shutterstock_161136650-624x702.jpg
    Stylecraze

Did I forgot to tell you Kerala also means the land of Coconut!!

Guys , this is just a small preview. If you are not sure where to visit this vacation go try Kerala out. Atleast the food won't dissapoint you. Unless you hate spicy food.. I'm sorry then.

I chose this topic specifically , to show the wide variety of dishes we have , just like the variety of different religions , rich and poor, all kinds of people under one roof. And Kerala has the highest literacy rate among all other states.

What makes Kerala more special to me is the fact that , it is my mother land . Whichever other countries I have stayed in , when I go back to Kerala , I can smell home smell , you get what I am saying right. The greenery is mind-blowing. And all family members coming to see us.

Thank you guys for reading my post.

@originalwork

Sort:  

Hi, I am from Kerala too. All these photos are making me crave for payasams and pazham pori, sigh

Hehe Ikrrr , I'm craving too 😍

Very interesting insight into your culture @ashley4u, the food looks so tasty thanks for sharing :)

My Pleasure 😉😊😊😊 I love food very much...I wish one day I be able to taste food from every country 😉😉 ❤️ wow that would be so diverse and delicious 😋😋😋

This post has been selected by Altruistic as a post of the day has been given an upvote.
You may join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk.

Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

Thanks for being a member!

Congratulations @ashley4u! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Interesting one @ashley4u
Kerala is in the my lists to visit, may this year or next............ And I just to taste all of the dishes that you have shown here..
Thanks for sharing

Yay..there are more..hehe I was making this around 2 in the morning and my light were off since I'm in the dorm . So I had to rush through...that's why 😋..I hope you would love all the dishes when you taste them😍

Yeah sure I will...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ashley4u from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60