Singapore Green City!!

in #aboutmyculture6 years ago

divider-1024.png

Welcome readers! Singapore is a bustling metropolis with numerous skyscrapers which dotted the landscape coupled with apartment flats and roads that pretty made up most of the country’s land. In a land-constrained country like Singapore, the Singapore government had made a lot of efforts to preserve nature for the citizens to enjoy and unwind during weekends.

Why did I put “Singapore Green City” as my title? According to CNN

It's a small, dense, island nation where 100% of the population is urbanized. And yet, the city-state of Singapore is the greenest city in Asia, according to the Green City Index.

In the past few weeks, I had been travelling in my “Exploring with Afiqsejuk” series to uncover “free to go” places and I discovered nature in its purest form. There are also so many parks in Singapore which, in my opinion, resembles a forest. Now, I will share with you readers the spectacular parks that I unravel before you.

These are original photos from me used from the previous travelling blogs on Steemit.

Alexandra Canal



The creativity in building this place is immense. Signage is provided to educate the visitors on how the water flows through nature and its benefits. There are three processes in which will make cleaner water flows into the Alexandra Canal.



These are not just plants for show. They actually serve a purpose and are called “Bioretention Swales”. The drains are planted with plants which filter and channel rainwater into an underground drainage system. The plants and soil layers in the swale act as a natural filter to sieve out impurities.



This is a “Sedimentation Bay” which the water from the canal is pumped into allowing larger sediments found in water to settle down slowly. This water will then flows into the wetlands further down.



This is the wetlands they were referring to. It had low marshes planted throughout and the water is kept at a constant depth. The low marsh planting helps to remove impurities in the water.

Chinese garden

This place is a tourist attraction that is modelled according to Chinese architecture and landscaping. When I was walking along the bridge to enter the garden, I saw this beautiful river.



I went up a flight of stairs on this beautiful pagoda up to the 7th story and the beautiful greenery greeted before me having the same similarities of the atmosphere in ancient China. There were a lot of trees coexisting with the urban dwellings such as the apartments in the background.






I took another angle of the landscape on the balcony of the 7th story pagoda. This time, it was a train station with abundant trees.



I came across this Suzhou styled Bonsai garden and I was struck by how many bonsais are there in this garden. I dig a little bit on the Internet and I found out there are 2000 bonsais in here.



A waterfall in the Bonsai Garden.


Kent Ridge Park

A spectacular lake in the middle of the park. I took the lake from a different angle.







Is this a park or a forest?




Labrador Park Nature Reserve

I had the opportunity to encounter a mangrove swamp where they were being preserved for visitors to learn more about mangrove trees.





My cultural topic is Singapore Green City and I choose it because the Singapore government focuses itself on expanding the green space for its citizens and I had gone to a lot of parks with abundant nature and greenery on it. It is special to me because I can truly get away from the urban lifestyle for just a moment and enjoy nature and I think that is the same for the local culture.

Thank you, @jrvacation for informing about this contest. Thank you to @sndbox and @aaronli for organizing this contest. Signing off! Sejuk!

divider-1024.png

Sort:  

wow! wonderful Singapore Green City!
resteemed!

Thx for resteeming!!

singapore NEA needs to sponsor you! :D

Yea man! I had worked so hard to take the pictures. Haha!

Congrats on winning a honorable mention for this contest!

Wow! Thanks a lot!!!!

The late Uncle Lee had done loads to make Singapore GREEN since the 60s. I have much respect for the great leader. He had made impossible eventually possible.

Congrats on getting through the challenge. I enjoyed your story.

Grats on winning first place in this contest and thank you!!!

Thanks and have a good day :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34