Random Shit

in #aboutme6 years ago (edited)
  1. I grew up in the Catskills. I live in Florida now, which is a decidedly flat state, and when I first moved here, the flatness made me dizzy. I still kind of prefer mountainous areas and kind of dislike the flatness of Florida aesthetically (also, I personally think palm trees are ugly), but I have gotten used to it. The people here are generally pretty nice, and I do like the surplus of restaurants serving food from around the world. The two big things I miss in that department are diners and bagels. There aren't many diners here, unless you count Denny's (and I don't), and the bagel situation is a travesty. There's one decent bagel place here, and it's an hour away. I've started baking my own bagels because I'm apparently a bigger bagel snob than I had realized.

  2. The first rapper I got into was Ice-T. My brother was a metalhead as a kid, so I listened to Body Count a lot. Getting into his solo rap stuff was kind of a natural progression. I still like Ice-T.

  3. My first favorite band was the Talking Heads. I do believe I'm dating myself with that confession. I'm less into them now, but I'll still listen to "Once in a Lifetime." That's a good song.

  4. I got into writing poetry as a little kid. I was that little girl who carried a notebook around everywhere. I was never very good at keeping a journal; I'm just not that interesting a person. But I wrote a lot of poetry and a lot of short stories in my notebook. I'm really sad that I only kept a couple of those notebooks.

  5. My favorite poet is Allen Ginsberg. I got in trouble for reading a printout of "Howl" in the library at school. I didn't have the heart to rat out the teacher who told me I'd like it. Especially since that teacher was the best teacher I ever had.

  6. I am currently listening to the band James. "Lost a Friend" is my favorite song by them.

Just thought I'd start a little chat, I suppose. I have really been enjoying how cool people are on this site, and was wondering if people wanted to tell me a little about themselves in the comments.

Sort:  

Hello jessiperry! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steemit, jessiperry! Best wishes for an awesome journey here in this fun-loving community :) All the best!!

Hi, Jessi...Welcome! So nice to have you with us. If you have any questions, just post them here and I will try to help out, if I can. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84