About me: a solo female thru-hiker

in #about7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem! My name is Abby, I’m 19 and I live in Scotland. I’m starting this blog to document and share my preparations for solo thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail starting in March 2018. I want to share everything from my personal gear picks, worries and thoughts to more general info and FAQs surrounding the trail and hiking in general.

IMG_4159.JPG12096334_956763611029033_9127770129891679614_n.jpg

The Appalachian Trail (AT) is an approximately 2,200 mile hiking trail from the summit of Springer Mountain in Georgia to the summit of Mt. Katahdin, 14 states away, in Maine. The trail takes between 5 and 6 months to hike in it’s entirety – or ‘thru-hike’ – and this is exactly what I am planning to accomplish.

appalachian_trail.jpg

It’s going to be an interesting journey and I’m excited to be sharing it with the Steem community!

Please get in touch if you have any specific questions that you’d like answered either in the comments or in their own blog post – can’t wait to hear from you!

maxresdefault.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome, I'm following you! Scotland has always been interesting to me and I want to know more about it and see all the places you might be able to photograph.

Scotland is great! Can't imagine living anywhere else - will upload some photos from trails I have done here soon :)

hahah hello! fancy seeing you here :P

From Scotland myself, I can only imagine how awesome this will be! Good luck.
resteemed up and followed!

Thanks man! Stick around to see how it all goes!

Go Abby & Good luck on Steemit ! I'm going to follow you so get your posts in order !

I will do - lots more to come! Thanks so much!

my mate Guido Gazzi is planning 4000km around Spain in the Winter next year

https://www.linkedin.com/in/guido-gazzi-10172245/?ppe=1

maybe get in touch with him at linked-in.. I'm sure you'll have plenty to talk about

Wow that sounds incredible - i'll check him out! thanks for sharing!

tell him Christos said to send you over !

Wow! Wish you all the best for the 2,200 hiking trail :)

Thanks so much! Going to need all the good luck I can get!

Good luck on your journey! Up-vote and following!

Thanks so much! Hoping for all the good luck that comes my way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60