Dance With The Devil, A True Story of Sympathetic Magick, Part 1

in #aakom6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3491.jpg

Warning: Before Reading This Story...

Ask for PROTECTION from the images herein.

My friend @zero-infinity describes me as a child running with scissors... this story describes that... maybe it's Sagitarius Rising - it also protects me (and others) from the worst effects and allows me to learn and grow Spiritually as a result of my blunders.

sva.jpg
image

In 1983, I was attending the School of Visual Arts in New York City. I was a much different person than I am now. I was mostly terrified of everything. I had lived a very sheltered life, my family taking care of all the hard stuff for me. As a result , I trusted no one, let alone myself.

I attended a summer art workshop in Woodstock, NY at Birdcliffe Artist's Colony Theater.

birdcliffe.jpeg

By day, we would be drawing and painting...

esprsso.jpeg.jpg
image
By night we listened to great music at the Joyous Lake and Cafe Espresso...where Rock Legends Bob Dylan, The Band, Janis Joplin, and Jimi Hendrix all got their start, with Albert Grossman as their manager...

It was a fantastic experience for me... but I was still super uptight as an artist. I just could not let go. I over analyzed everything and pretty much had to be stoned to be able to let it rip.

On the last day of classes, one of our teachers, who lived in Saugerties, NY - just down the road, brought a Mexican Devil Mask to Class for us to draw in a still life...

0b4601e0c34c1b4d732174a0333a7617.jpg
I fell IN LOVE - but this is not the actual mask

I could feel it in my heart. I whipped out the cray-pas and drew an extremely expressive still life drawing of the Devil Mask placed on a Native American Blanket, and it's shadow on the wall... (the still life is gone - I had to burn it in the end) - but I was FREE - I guess I traded my physical freedom for another form of spiritual imprisonment.

What I did not know at the time was that the Mask was possessed by a Spirit which then took possession of me, and led me down a long path of both exhaltation and destruction. From this experience I learned the power of Sigil-Making and the power of ART...

Something which the dark occult of this world have robbed the artists of the knowledge about - that when we take a mark-maker to a substrate, we are actually capturing a spirit and embodying it within ourselves and within the medium we use - that's why it's called a medium.

"The Two Parts of Sympathetic Magic
Frazer broke down the idea further into two distinct parts: The Law of Similarity and the Law of Contact/Contagion.
He said, “From the first of these principles, namely the Law of Similarity, the magician infers that he can produce any effect he desires merely by imitating it: from the second he infers that whatever he does to a material object will affect equally the person with whom the object was once in contact, whether it formed part of his body or not.”*
-https://www.thoughtco.com/sympathetic-magic-2561922

Stay tuned for Part 2...

Sort:  

That is intense, @in2itiveart! I was having these kinds of things happen to me a lot in my home as a child. I think it has something to do with the way my family had mediums practicing arts in ways that trickled effects down, as well as certain artifacts that were brought into our home. (One of them terrified me.)

Eager for more of your account. Sitting here with a selenite wand that said she was going to protect me. ^_^

You remind me of a picture in a book that my mom had that terrified me every time I looked at it... it was an African mask made from feathers... similar to this- gotta look into that.

Yup. Hope you will check in with that. Soul recovery is what I heard.

Mine was a Malaysian puppet that was partially in a jar.

There were many things energetically terrorizing me in my home. It was a constant poltergeist situation that was never helped.

Have been learning to deal with the PTSD it has caused me. Definitely a boon to my own mediumship abilities to have exorcised these things...

I didn't even realize how bad it was 'til i got away. It is starting to hit me why things go the way they go.

I know now how serious it is to have energetic protection and safety. 💘

yes. it's amazing we are alive after what we survived in our childhoods and then spend the rest of our lives overcoming.

Yes! I never was able to talk about it. As an adult who now also lives as a witness in service to others, I'm often surprised at my own inhibition toward speaking my own difficumt truths because of how I was being abused.

The retrospect from my adult life and especially this eclipse season has exposed so much to me.

I am happy to have safe people around now and also an awareness of personal space and boundaries.

I will be working with this more. Had I not caught this post, I may have forgotten about that puppet. I feel like I need to work on this one and am happy for how you connected it for me.

Once again I am so glad I was able to be helpful! Looking forward to hanging out one of these days soon...

Thanks for sharing this experience, the story really interresting.

Very scary picture I'm afraid of the pictures this
An exciting story though
You are a really successful person

Just ask for protection - you will be ok. i will add that to the story. Plus this is not the real mask - I have not been able to find a picture of the mask at all - the real one. This mask is not nearly as bad.

I'm from México and in almost all danzas rituales a mask of the Diablo is present. There are a museum in Zacatecas with a great collection of masks, and have a room dedicated to Diablo masks

Wow that is so amazing! I am so grateful that you commented! I wonder if all the masks are possesed? Do you feel it so? I am not sure I would want to go into that room. I remember that when the mask was brought into the class - and this was now over 30 years ago, it felt other-worldly - like a portal. It is appalling how glib we Americans are about other cultures rituals - perhaps if kept within it's own culture it is safe, but it has a trap secured to it so that if it is violated it entraps the violator?

All the rooms in the museum have their own enegry, but when you enter in each room and stand in front of a mask or a group of mask you can feel the energy of the mask itself, the energy of the creator of the mask, the energy of who use it and your own enegry, all interactuating. The rooms of Diablos is very impressive, after all we all have light and dark inside, we are made of light and dark. I have some photos of the museum, maybe i made a serie of post to show them, it's a very impressive museum

Highly rEsteemed!

Meaning and purpose.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26