Over-sleeping? How long can you sleep for?

in #aakom7 years ago

Without the pressure of waking up to go to work, I can easily sleep for 12 hours or more!

Thing is, once awake, I can stay awake for 20 hours or more!

Completely screwed up circadian rhythm! Actually, I feel fine - just out of phase with the rest of the planet.

This page has some interesting info: Long Sleeping Disorder – Research & Treatments. The article itself is boring and unenlightening, but there is a wealth of comments from people who sleep far longer than the average 8 hours per night.

One interesting thing is that many associate their excessive sleep with an active dream life. There is a scene in Inception showing a den of drug-induced dreamers, living out a more exciting virtual life in their head.

So, for how many hours can you sleep? 12? 16? more?



Please comment, upvote and resteem. Thanks!

AAKOM is a new project dedicated to furthering knowledge on the esoteric and exoteric sciences

All new info to participate will be published by @aakom

Sort:  

I usually wake up between 8 and 9, even if I went to bed late. But I lately I’ve been staying in bed in the morning for a few hours, doing some work on the Ipad :-)

I don’t always do this, my patterns are changeable because I travel a lot.

Do you find it easy to re-sync?

I've always felt the day could do with an extra hour! Classic night-owl syndrome. Our body clocks are not all perfectly synced to a 24 hour day - seems to vary between 23-25 hrs. Useful to adapt to the seasons in extreme latitudes and.... well... that's the only advantage I can think of!

Yes definitely! I think it’s possible to re-sync, just don’t think “I am tired’ etc. too much

My general sleep downtime is self-restricted to about seven or eight hours, which is the requisite amount I need for both my lower functions and higher functions (including those related to the ajna and its six counterparts) to function properly. At five or six, all those seven higher functions shut down and I'm left with everything below it. And at four and below, I can get through the day just fine, but I'm mostly just good for analogue tasks like heavy lifting, food-making and whatnot. I can utilize my higher functions, but like you've said to @idikuci, it proves challenging and generally quite unstable. Like running Windows 10 on hardware designed to run Windows 98. Of course, being human means the hardware's flexible, so at least the limitation isn't permanent.

Here's the interesting part though; every night I've ever meditated and opened up the ajna for connectivity and communication (or just to try and achieve projection, which I'm still trying to do), I've had a really long and vivid dream. Which is to be expected. However, the nature of the dreams varies hugely based on whether I've opened it or not, and whether I've done so after the midnight mark (and I mean 12:00 AM sharp), or before, with a quad-chotomous constant; if NOT opened before 12:00 and I sleep, my dreams are usually positive, light-energized, but mostly related to stuff I've got going here in this human existence. If opened before 12:00 and then I sleep, the dreams maintain their positive energy and whatnot, but they're almost never of this world. It's like experiences from other octaves find me. Or maybe it's my higher, non-sleep restricted consciousness that goes exploring lol.

Anyway, if I DON'T open the ajna before sleeping, but sleep anytime between 12:00 AM and 3:00 AM, I usually have darker, human-like dreams; tortures (not of myself, but people I've been vaguely close to), having a price on my head and being chased for it, falling sequences (we all know these), and the like. When opened after 12:00 and I then fall asleep, the dreams can often involve dark spirits, ghouls, succubi, malevolent aliens, and a whole bunch of other nasty. Guess that's motivation to keep better patterns, eh?

So...where it all ties in (in a super weird way), is here; if I haven't had enough sleep to use my higher functions properly, but I try doing the ajna stuff after twelve and sleeping, I am either:

a) Immune to stuff (somehow), cause I don't recall having any dreams.
or
b) Being exposed to the dark stuff, but just can't recall em' due to the poor rest my system has had.

It is difficult to ascertain which, since usually the effects of whatever I've experienced in these 'dreams' I can feel in my physical body, though the actual signs might not be there. Like I once had a dream where I got chased around in some super urban, futuristic mall with a mag-lev metro running right through it (albeit on an elevated platform), and though I was able to eventually get away from the guys, ran into about two or three of them along the way once they split to find me, and I got into a scuffle with each. Woke up feeling like I'd been in a fight, and some of the places I'd taken a bad hit actually did feel sore.

There are occasional inconsistencies, but by far this one is most consistently inconsistent.

And of course, if I get good sleep, it's all sunshine and bunnies either way, cause of the way my daytime timings work.

Also pardon the over-detailing here and there, but I figured they'd help better illustrate the points I was making.

An article of a comment! Yes, focus on the 3rd eye chakra is a method in Dzogchen sleep yoga - I do that too. Although the throat chakra is advised for dream recall - the ajna is primarily for falling asleep consciously, which sounds like a contradiction but can be achieved. In Thailand there are many statues of the "sleeping Buddha", who is not sleeping at all - it's his parinirvana and also the sleeping position for dream yoga. Most of us, indeed, end up falling asleep.

An article of a comment!

Or a mammoth, lol...just saw how long it was.

I've never heard of Dzogchen sleep yoga, but it seems I've been closer to it than I've known.
I'm technically supposed to be focusing on my throat, heart and plexus chakras, but I'm still struggling to become as aware of them as I am of my third eye. Which is strange considering that I'm very easily the most outspoken, verbally eloquent and generally the most vocab-adept person in my own circles, and people who've read me (using the third eye vision, psychic or whatever) say I've got a very large heart chakra...so I can't imagine why 'feeling' them could prove so difficult.

the ajna is primarily for falling asleep consciously, which sounds like a contradiction but can be achieved.

Yes. It's also possibly the easiest way to achieve projection, which is something I've been trying to do for some time as well. I can almost never get past the body lock tho :(

In Thailand there are many statues of the "sleeping Buddha", who is not sleeping at all - it's his parinirvana and also the sleeping position for dream yoga.

Leave it to enthusiastic whites and unaware Asians to interpret him as being asleep lol.
Someday I intend to get to where he managed to get with his spiritual awakening.

Most of us, indeed, end up falling asleep.

Yep. Grrr...
I've discovered that trying to achieve meditative results in the spirit arts and practice are often met with sleep-induced failure if attempted while tired or drained. So I usually sleep well, get up, walk around for a bit, do a stretch or two, consume my Chawanprash, and then get back in bed and try while I'm fresh.

Yes, same technique for out-of-body/astral projections - or one of the techniques. Which makes me think one gets caught in that twilight hypnagogic state. Charles Tart (wrote one article on him, so far) says it's his fave method - to just stare at the shifting darkness.

Body asleep... mind awake...

From what I've learnt, enlightenment is not one single experience - not like a mystical vision - but that after the first experience one needs to then make it a permanent state. That part is hard! :-)

Yes, same technique for out-of-body/astral projections - or one of the techniques.
Body asleep... mind awake...

Yes, precisely. I've fallen shy of a few inches from success with this stuff more times than I'd care to count at this point. The body lock failsafe is just too powerful. I've tried some of the ways of circumventing or reducing it, but...goddamn it's tough.

Which makes me think one gets caught in that twilight hypnagogic state.

Eh?

Charles Tart (wrote one article on him, so far) says it's his fave method - to just stare at the shifting darkness.

That's usually what I'm doing behind me eyelids...after the day's flotsam clears it, that's all that remains. And then the dark blankness starts to take on its own random patterns and whatnot. I feel like it's residual energy met with during the day, or just energy surrounding one's form or something.

From what I've learnt, enlightenment is not one single experience - not like a mystical vision - but that after the first experience one needs to then make it a permanent state. That part is hard! :-)

Word. It's literally a life-long process, and not just in the limited span of human life. Kind of just a quasi-infinite Ascension of consciousness and energy till one achieves unison with the Source.

I never remember my dreams, but I can sleep for ages and I really enjoy it. Although I think most people tend to enjoy sleep, better than work anyway.

I think naturally I sleep for 9-10hrs but if I'm tired I can go to 12 without issue. but irrespective of the amount of sleep I tend to wake up at 5-6am everyday.

I think the recommended 8hrs is a good average but I know people who happily get 5-6hrs per night and still function properly.

I have to wake up at 5.30 am every working day - the mind gets used to it but the body doesn't! It's like jetlag; permanently out of sync. Classic night-owl here.

I can appear to function even on 5 hours sometimes, but the key word there is "appear"; work isn't that taxing, just time-consuming. But trying to write something vaguely interesting takes an extra level of alertness.

Thanks for your comment.

You got a 3.74% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @rycharde!

Also, I should mention that I agree with one thing in the article you referenced up there...if I sleep longer than nine and a half hours (which is what my body seems to like), I do actually tend to feel really drowsy, sluggish and out of sorts throughout the day. Usually just wait for the day to end on those runs.

On the other end of the spectrum, when I wrote my exams a while back (when I bid my retreat from Steemit and the MAP Fortress), I was up at around 9:00 AM the day before each exam, studying (or trying to anyway) from then till around 6:00 AM the next morning, only to get three hours of sleep before rushing off into the heat of the day (which tends to drain my energy faster) to write my exam at 2:00 PM, I felt like sh*t, but I could still focus and make meaningful points while writing, and chain up my answers well. Only for Sociology I didn't get those three hours either, and as a result I scored lower on that than I did the others.

So I think pressure can also keep my system running too, albeit on 'burnt chip overdrive', cause I remember I'd only go to sleep at 12:00 AM on the actual exam days, and wake again at 9:00 AM to study for the next one.

Congratulations @aakom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83