zhu' Movie Review: Whiplash (2014), Music Movie by the Director Damien Chazelle, who is the director of "La La Land"

in #aaa5 years ago

The reason why I am interested in this movie is the music. Before I praise the Director Damien Chazelle, I have to highly appreciate Justin Hurwitz, who is the music director of this movie. As we can see, this movie is classified as an artistic movie, which is rely on music, narration, and photography. Although this artistic movie is difficult to compete with popular commercial Hollywood films at the box office, it has always been a strong presence in the film festival awards and also it is highly praised by artistic lovers. Before I wrote this movie review, I have read some others film critics. Most of the reviewers give very high score to this movie. Additionally, the style of the director Damien Chazelle is officially formed through this movie “Whiplash.”

3Xbp6Tqot8GPuCQXGEgrzjCIK6a.jpg
picture

The great success of this movie help the director Damien Chazelle’s next great movie, which is “La La Land (2016).” I have to say that there are two areas that make this movie successful. These two areas are the production of the film music and the thought-provoking plots. First of all, it is the film music. While I was watching this movie, I feel like this movie is a musical movie. If you are a big fan of jazz music, I bet you will like this movie very much. If you are not like jazz music, the reputation of this movie might be greatly reduced.

6bbZ6XyvgfjhQwbplnUh1LSj1ky.jpg
picture
As I mentioned in the previous paragraph, the music is the key point. I have to mention the music director Justin Hurwitz. He wrote two classic jazz songs for this movie. The first song is “Oveture”. I am really enjoying this song, which is still in my iPhone app. When I am running, this song is a must for me. The another song is “Fletcher’s Club Song”. This one is also very charming. For me, I prefer the first one. The surprising thing that I find out is that Justin Hurwitz is a college roommate of the director Damien Chazelle. What’s more, they are not just living in this same room when they were in the college, they are in the same Jazz band. I think that is the reason why they cooperate very well in this movie and “La La Land.”

yxxFr8YWZEGN0JJnQOsE2ntVuyE.jpg
picture

Moreover, I also have to mention that the band members in the movie are real musicians. Some of them are real musicians and some others are students, who are majoring the music in their school. Thus, when I was watching this movie, I truly believed that they are not just actors or actress. They are true musicians. Actually, they are muscians in the reality. I think that is the key point makes this movie successful. All in all, if you are a big fan of “La La Land (2016)”, I bet you must like this movie very much. Also if you are music lovers, and looking for a musical movies, this masterpiece will not let you down.

Movie URL: https://www.themoviedb.org/movie/244786-whiplash?language=en-US
Critic: AA

Sort:  

dblog logo w white background.jpg
This post is upvoted by @dblog.supporter.
Visit https://dblog.io now! This is a tribe for all bloggers on Steem blockchain.

Congratulations @zhuzhanlei! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32