You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Story - With new ideas and directions to hand. I'm writing this and posting it straight onto Steemit - You can not get more exclusive than that!

in #story7 years ago

Improvement will always come from within you. You set the bar, and practice many exercises to work the writing muscle. We have to run our race, and progress with writing exercises. Do 1 or 2 a day. It depends what you want to achieve? Screenwriting or novel? This will dictate the types of weights you lift. Writing is much like weight lifting, so we could shift strategies from time to time. Keep at it.

Sort:  

I write every day, but it's a discipline I've only recently returned to. I had a bit of a black-spot earlier - too much to do and no focus on anything.

I write first thing every morning, with one last post at night.

This is something I'm writing by the 'seat of my pants' so to speak. There's no plot or development planned out, I have no idea where it's going. I'm just following Ash on her journey and I'm grateful that she's allowing me to come along with her.

I'm not sure if this will be a novel, but anything's possible, right?

The stories I've previously written have all been paranormal-based, urban horror and this is the most 'real' I've written (apart from my memories, in another set of posts).

Writing consists of structure and flow. If you flow and let it come out creatively; however we need structure. Structuring the story. Structure the grammar and so on. Flow is also present in words. The rhythm of language such as alliteration. The discipline you speak of is crucial, and it is a trait of good writer such as yourself.

"This is something I'm writing by the 'seat of my pants' so to speak. There's no plot or development planned out, I have no idea where it's going. I'm just following Ash on her journey and I'm grateful that she's allowing me to come along with her."

<----- This statement leads to the idea that structure could never possibly be ignored. Every story has one. The map is never the territory of course. There is a fine line between structure and flow. If we are too structure it is boring as crap. If we are too flow. Then we need to structure it more and "sharpen the saw" so to speak. We do both in every story. Structure and flow. So, now that you know this. You can work on structure. It will pay off.

"too much to do and no focus on anything." This statement lends itself to the idea that if we put too much focus on too many things we just get more of the same. When you focus yourself and become like a laser beam you will have writing that provides a visceral punch to your audience.

You get what you focus on. Focus on too many things you become scattered. Focus in on one part of writing and you will dominate it. Hugs. Fantastic work over all. You can do this. I believe in you. We often have to stretch toward our opposite traits. It is all about comfort zones and coming out of them.

Make a list of areas that you can structure in your story. You have killer writing now go and be visceral.

Thank you for your advice and words of wisdom. I appreciate it all.

The thing I was focussing on wasn't to do with writing, it was a new house and I got so bogged down with that, it took my mind completely away from writing and then it became difficult to get back.

The longer I left it, the harder it was to return and the easier it was to find something else to focus my creative spirit on.

We need breaks from writing. We need breaks from life too. When you take a break from writing you will be more creative when you get back to it. Shift gears as it should be high up on your list what you value.

Thank you. Understood :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63