You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Consider Buying Steem. Be an Owner, not a Renter.

in #steem7 years ago

How do you define "traction"?

Comments? Votes? Curation rewards?

Base your actions on your intended goals. If you want more Steem Power, buy it or work to get votes from whales to earn it over time (but if you beg for votes instead of just creating great content over time, you'll most likely just get flagged).

Sort:  

First of all, thx so much for taking the time to respond. That's not something I take lightly.

Traction, in my mind, is all of those. By votes, I'm thinking about having value to my votes that I can give out that would have some decent value - not votes that I receive, which has little to do with my traction, as I'm thinking about it. I really enjoy the thought of encouraging good content on the platform by rewarding thoughtful/useful posts and comments.

Right after HF19, my vote jumped up to a value of $.14, now it's a big fat nothing burger. I know there's a little value there - just that it rounds to less than $.01. Don't get me wrong - I didn't deserve having the $.14 in the first place, and I have the means to remedy that soon enough.

Nothing seems to disgust me more on this platform than the vote and follow begging that goes on. I will continue to just ignore the voting bots and schemes like randowhale and minnow support project, or the paid resteem opportunities that have cropped up. Although I don't begrudge others using them. I'm just not interested. I thought that minnow booster was just another one of those, but maybe I'm wrong about that.

Btw, what part of my comment led you to think that I would beg for a vote? I'm going to assume that you are just so used to needing to hand out that advice everywhere you turn because it is so rampant. You are much too reasonable in your comments for me to assume otherwise.

I remember when my vote was worth less than a penny also. It's much more fun to see money there. :)

Nothing seems to disgust me more on this platform than the vote and follow begging that goes on

I'm glad to hear that.

My comment wasn't directly at you specifically (it was a parenthetical) but more of a public service announcement for others reading the comments (a surprising number of people do, which is another reason why I love Steemit). It's also why I asked what your definition of traction is because, clearly, vote getting/begging is not your focus.

Minnow booster is only slightly different in that it limits the amount to 1 SBD which I think is a good thing. That way it won't be abused but it also serves the purpose of spreading votes around which is a helpful service for whales (while providing them with direct rewards for their delegation).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65