You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing DTube: a decentralized video platform using STEEM and IPFS

in #video7 years ago

Hi there. When I try to play the DTube videos I've uploaded they won't play. Should I pay an IPFS static node to increase playback reliability or is there something else that I can do to help playback?

Sort:  

I of course know about the problem. It especially impacts newer, bigger-sized videos. Ive seen some videos taking up to 2 hours to being viewable.

Also at times it seems we just have not enough bandwidth with the current list of gateways as nothing is viewable.

DTube is decentralized, plans to stay like that. I am working on a solution for people to have a way to join the IPFS network and increase DTube's capacity. You can actually already do it by installing IPFS on your machine and running 'ipfs daemon' in the console then. Then go on dtube and activate the last gateway (127.0.0.1). Then all dtube files will load from your local IPFS node.

I will post more about it soon

Thanks! I can do this on my home system! I appreciate your feedback and hope to help DTube how I can, at least with content, but running a node would also help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05