Why do we always expose our art in white cubes?

in #a8 years ago (edited)

Our art galleries and museums are painted in white, I think the colour white is also being used to have things sell. A gallery is nothing more but a white box with a huge shopping window, some say the white cubes started from the old idea of futurism and the white cube is the only way to feel purely concentrated on the art works but to make things less sophisticated that sounds like "bs" to me. 

In fact when I enter a white gallery I get distracted by the whole space and their visitors because the space gives me an artificial reality, those galleries are becoming holy temples where suddenly people enter and know what art is. If something is hanging in a gallery or museum.. or a white space... does it make that object more likely to be art?

I think the space we present in today is part of the art work. I mean in our technology we are at the rise of 360° virtual technology and environment. To me that means the space where the artist is exposing in, is crucial to my belief. 

What do you think?


Capten Hero


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39