Please wish our Bonnie a HAPPY 1st BIRTHDAY ๐Ÿ’•๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽˆ

in #a โ€ข 7 years ago

image.jpeg

10th June 2016

Exactly 6am this time last year I was sound asleep when Tom walked in from his night shift.

I was woken by my dream...thinking I'd wet myself. But low and behold it was my waters that had broken ๐Ÿ˜€ I was soooooooo excited, because with my first two girls, the nurse used a large *knitting needle to pop them ๐Ÿ’ฆ

(*not sure what the medical term is ๐Ÿ™ˆ)

With excitement I waddled downstairs to tell Tom the news ๐Ÿ˜€ his first words were.....
"Can you cut my hair!"

Yes I was bloody shaving his head in the garden at 6am.

Bless him! ๐Ÿ˜ But he does like to look smart for the arrival of his children (best shirt and aftershave!)

By 9am my contractions had started, so we packed the girls off to my BFF's house (they were sooo excited! ๐Ÿ˜ and headed towards the hospital (we live approximately 45 minute - with no traffic - drive from the hospital) so I didn't want to chance having to get blue lighted there.

On arrival to Broomfield, I confirmed that I wanted a water birth (I had planned for one the whole way through my pregnancy) and luckily the birthing pool was available ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

My contractions had started getting more frequent (and more painful!) I wanted to go as long as possible without pain relief, but by 1pm I most definitley was needing it! But I had told Tom and the midwives that at no point did I want to know how far dilated I was (I think it was because, I was trying to stay calm, and enjoy the labour, not knowing how much longer I might have to go)

image.jpeg

Checking in that the girls were OK and speaking to my BFF (Jodie) I remember saying "it's all going how I wanted it to Jodie" ๐Ÿ˜Š My girls were so excited. (Jodie had sneekily taken them home to decorate the house!) ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ’•

image.jpeg

1pm - By this time I was told that I could not have a water birth. I was gutted! (and I can't actually remember why I wasn't allowed to?)

As the day went on, and my contractions intensified, it started getting dark, and by 8pm they were cranking up something on the machine, to what I could only describe as electrocuting my body! (It was to move the labour along)

The girls, my Dad, Toms Mum and Jodie were still ringing to hear if there was any news.

Gone midnight, Tom had been awake for over 36 hours, chatting to the midwives, keeping my playlist going on loop:

UB40 - Homely Girl
Justin Timberlake - Can't stop the feeling
Chas n Dave - No pleasing you
Lemar - Someone should tell you

and many more of my favourite
tunes (a real variety!) on loop kept me going, oh and toast - I'm not sure why, but hospital toast seemed like heaven during labour!

image.jpeg

Something just didn't seem right. The consultants kept coming in to examine me.

It was nearly 2am (I had been in active labour for nearly 20 hours) I was exhausted, Tom was tired (but amazing at keeping me going) the midwives were fantastic !

image.jpeg

But then....

11th June 2016

After nearly 22 hours of labour, the midwives and consultants found that our baby had turned breech, and her little neck was jarred back and they said the cord was round her neck.

Even how tired Tom was, and although he was trying to not let on, I could see the worry on his face.

For hours I was getting the urge to push, but wasn't allowed. I was getting scared for my baby and decided that I now wanted to know how far dilated I was. They said I was only 4cm....4cm!!! After contracting for all that time. ๐Ÿ˜”

They said that they needed to get the baby out quickly, which meant through the sun roof!

I had planned for a waterbirth, I had planned for not having pain relief, I had planned on delayed cord clamping, I had planned on using the Umbilicol cord tie....all of this was now out of my control.....but I felt relief.

Relief that I have never ever felt in my life....Amongst the noise of rushing me to theatre and lots of nurses /doctors preparing to deliver our baby....I felt so calm. But I also felt freezing cold, Tom said I was vigorously shaking, he said he was really scared! We hadn't planned for this, we hadn't even spoken about if I had to have a Caesarean section.

He held my hand all the way to the theatre doors. Then the doctor asked me to sign a piece of paper ๐Ÿ˜ณ

I had no idea why at the time, and was still relying on the gas and air. I asked if I could sign it with my digital blinks! ๐Ÿ˜‚ WTF!

Then they prepared me for an epidural, something else I hadn't planned for ๐Ÿ˜”

Tom was all gowned up and allowed back in. He sat stroking my head and holding my hand.

It was all happening really quickly.

Then at 4.15am our baby arrived into the world. โค๏ธ

But I couldn't hear her crying.

They whisked her to the medical table. She had been doing somersaults in my tummy, because she had the cord tightly wrapped round her neck THREE times!

image.jpeg

Then all of a sudden she let out a little cry.

Tom cried

I cried

I tried looking over to see her, but could only see the screen with her weight on....8lb5! ๐Ÿ˜ณ

image.jpeg

Our other two were tiny in comparison (6lb1 and 5lb14) so it was a good job I packed some bigger baby clothes in my hospital bag!

Tom helped put the umbilical cord tie on and they wrapped her up and passed her to Tom to give to me. We were so in love with our beautiful third daughter ๐Ÿ˜

image.jpeg

The male nurse that had sat with me in the theatre, asked what we were naming her?

Bonnie ๐Ÿ’•

He replied "oh wow, that's my sisters name"

My dad and his wife Gerri were on their way to collect Tom from the hospital, he had been awake for nearly 40 hours, so no way could he risk driving home.

By 5am, Bonnie was skin to skin and feeding on me. Just as I had planned ๐Ÿ˜Š

Tom went home for some rest and then picked up the girls and I spent the day cuddling and just watching our precious third baby daughter ๐Ÿ’•

image.jpeg

Even though the birth didn't go as I had planned, the fantastic team at Broomfield helped Bonnie arrive safely (with her hand on her hip ๐Ÿ˜‚) at 4.15 on 11th June 2016

image.jpeg

Happy 1st Birthday to our beautiful Bonnie ๐Ÿ’•she makes our hearts smile every day XXXXXX

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Follow me @allthingsbaby

Sort: ย 

Wow, your baby looks so cute. Congratulations to you and your family for this cute addition to your family. I am tapping into your blessing!

Congratulations @allthingsbaby! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82