#7DayPositivityChallenge - Day 4 - Defining Positive Thinking + Progress Report

Positivity challenge

So we're back with another week of the positivity challenge. Each week I'm focusing on a particular issue that I want to overcome with a positive outlook.

Note: I'm going to post this with SteemPeak. Twice now, posts on Partiko haven't received the autovotes that I receive normally. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. @partiko, any advice?

Progress report

Last week I decided to focus on staying positive even when others around me are upset or frustrated. By default, I either want to change the situation so that they feel better or if I can't do anything about it, I get depressed / frustrated too.

My final exam came almost right away. Squirt got sick and wasn't feeling well for a few days. There wasn't much I could do. Instead of getting introspective and frustrated with myself for not being able to "fix the problem", I focused my energies on giving her the attention I could and lots of TLC.

It was encouraging to note that I didn't feel nearly exhausted as I have with past sicknesses. Perhaps I'm a biased grader, but A+ for improvement!

Others' expectations

Ugghhh, I've been avoiding this topic since the first day. I know this is a huge weakness for me. As soon as there's a hint of letting someone down, the negative thoughts start crowding in.

I've realized that the endless battering of insults and reminders of past failures aren't productive or helpful. For a while now, I've been working on stopping those negative thoughts before they can take hold, but this week I want to really work on fighting back with a positive attitude.

What does it mean to be positive?

Depending on the situation, there are lots of answers to that question. It could simply be the opposite of negative. Or it could mean uplifting, even joyous.

When I was teaching, the motto I gave my class was:

"True. Helpful. Kind."

Those words guided our attitudes, our words, the instruction I gave, and how we treated each other.

I've realized that I need to practice that motto towards myself. When the negative thoughts come rushing in, I have to stop and ask myself, "Is that thought true? Is it helpful? Is it kind?" Most of the time, it dies at the first question, but sometimes even a true thought isn't a helpful one to have.

As I quelch the negativity that would remind me how I let others down, fail them, and am oftentimes an unworthy friend, I want to dwell on thoughts that are true, helpful and kind.

Thoughts that are true about my friends - do they really think those things about me? Or am I reflecting my own thoughts about myself on them?

Thoughts that are helpful - how can I make the most of this situation? What could I have done differently? Why do I think I'm a failure?

Thoughts that are kind - my friends probably think better of me than I do of myself. They are probably kinder in their assessment of my situation than I am of myself.

Thanks for stopping by for another positivity post!


I was nominated for this challenge by @insideoutlet who posts fun and engaging content and is a founder of @asapers (a curation project to help budding Steemians).

How to play this challenge...

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today. This could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit ... Just keep it positive!

  • Do this for 7 days in a row. (Mine won’t be consecutive, but I’ll try to reach 7 posts.)

  • Mention three people who should do this on each day. (Since this has been going around for quite awhile, I won’t be nominating anyone but feel free to reference this post if it inspired you to write your own!)

  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post. (Tip: If you're using Steemit.com, you need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)

  • Include a picture of something positive - related to your story if possible.

Sort:  

I'm glad to see that you are practicing good thoughts, and I wanted to thank you for being a great mother to Squish and Squirt.

It's good for humanity, so Good Job 😊✌

Congratulations @helenoftroy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44