#7daypositivitychallenge - Day 1 - They Don’t Have To Be Set In Stone

The challenge is on ...

I was nominated for this challenge by @insideoutlet who posts fun and encouraging content and is a founder of @asapers (a curation project to help budding Steemians).

You can read more about the rules for this challenge at the bottom of the post, but in short, the idea is to write about something positive.

Staying positive

I tend to be pretty optimistic, so most days will find me looking up. Sometimes I even have to dial down my “Pollyanna” positivity ... for those who haven’t seen the Disney movie with Hailey Mills, her persistence in finding the silver lining in EVERY situation can be annoying ... or so I’ve been told 😉

However, there are a few things that can get me down pretty quick. I want to tackle each one over the course of this challenge.

#1 Unexpected changes to plan

So today (or until I write the next positivity post) my challenge will be to stay positive when plans change. Some of you dear readers may laugh ... you see plans as suggestions and a schedule as something fluid, meant to be washed away by the tides of change ... my husband is a bit like that. Okay, maybe a lot like that.

But for others of us, plans are a lifeline. We make plans that account for just about everything so we can stay the course when the going gets tough. For example, without a schedule, I’d end up scrolling through Steemit, losing myself in comments and endless rabbit trails ... only realizing hours later that my kids hadn’t eaten lunch and I should’ve pulled out the laundry and started two more loads by now.

A well-organized schedule helps me plan out all the things I need or want to get done in a day and systematically work my way through them.

The rub

But the difficulty comes when no matter how exact I’ve been in accounting for what needs to happen when, who needs what, and how to best choreograph each task - so that vacuuming doesn’t happen at nap time and work takes place during my most productive times - life just doesn’t go as planned.

One would think this concept gets easier as we get older. But if anything, as my responsibilities grow, so does my desire to make sure everything gets done as planned. That’s why I’m going to stay focused on being positive when plans change.

The big picture

When I step back and look at my life, I’m glad it hasn’t gone the way I planned. (Yes, I actually wrote that.) The “upsets” and unexpected changes to my agenda have brought about some of my most treasured memories. They’ve also added depth to my life that I could never have accounted for.

I’ve been blessed by the hard lessons that have matured me and the unexpected rewards of responding to situations I hadn’t planned on.

The most obvious is our daughters. If I hadn’t answered the phone call ... if we hadn’t given up our financial plans ... if we hadn’t taken the risk, gotten in the car and waited to see what would happen ... if we weren’t still willing to let go of our plans as we wait for the adoption to be finalized ... we’d never have known the amazing joy that comes from parenthood.

How do you stay positive when plans change? I’d love to hear about it in the comments!


How to play this challenge...

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today. This could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit ... Just keep it positive!

  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated. (Mine won’t be consecutive, but I’ll try to reach 7 posts.)

  • Mention three people who should do this on each day. (Since this has been going around for quite awhile, I won’t be nominating anyone but feel free to reference this post if it inspired you to write your own!)

  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post. (Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)

  • Include a picture of something positive - related to your story if possible.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I tend to lose my positivity too easily. Good to see you posting again. I appreciate the encouragment to "always look on the bright side of life".

Peace

Thanks @em3! It’s good to be back! 😊 I’m planning (we’ll see if that changes or not 😉) to post Saturday about how my outlook towards blogging has changed a little ... but basically it was good to take a pause and get geared up to start again.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking forward to it.

👍
☀☀☀☀☀

Just do what you can brother!

Always love to hear your thoughts Helen :)

I'm more of a go-with-the-flow, let's-cross-the-bridge-when-we-get-there kind of person. I had been like that for as long as I can remember (maybe like forever) with no concrete plans on school, my job, relationships. My partner often scolded me for being like that (he's more of a plan-it-ahead, let's-think-it-over kind of guy) but I often enjoy not having a plan and just winging it. Tia even is only like 50% planned and 50% let's-just-do-it. Of course having her is not just flowers and butterflies each day but like Squish and Squirt, having her gave my life more meaning....and direction finally. The irony is that, I started making plans for her and because of her (even started to have a notebook solely for my plans.lol) and yeah...I realized, I could deal with a plan :) But plans or no plans, just to hear her laugh (or shout at us) is already a ton of reasons to be positive and be grateful each day :) I always am.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think having the opposite type of personality in our lives is a good thing! 😁 it helps keep us balanced ... and realistic. It’ll be interesting to see how our kids’ personalities develop as they grow and if they gravitate towards the parent who is the same or opposite. And how we change along the way too!! Kids definitely challenge us in our weak areas! 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha. I guess that's true. We need the opposite to keep us balanced...and a bit exciting maybe? :) Seeing Tia's development each day gives me half excitement and half dreading. Both are because I know she will eventually be like me or dad..or both..Neither of which seems to be good news.lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @helenoftroy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44