#7DaysPositivityChallenge Day 2 and Discovering the Undermined Gems #5: Kind Strangers

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

Not sure if this will do, but here I am combining two of my ongoing series into one post!

#7DaysPositivityChallenge is a challenge I got tagged to speak positivity on this platform, finding something in my life to give thanks for. I'm on Day 2.

Discovering the Undermined Gems is a series I started some months ago featuring strangers whom I spot in my daily life. These are people who work hard with great attitudes, so I was thinking to devote a post payout to them their well-deserved tips. I like to tell the stories of others to highlight them as gems. It's just a thing I want to give back to my community within my vicinity.

34123124_10156946181635260_3120446164638367744_n.png
Created using Canva

34156743_10156946220975260_6647729142135521280_n.png

I was rushing to a nearby grocer, the Village Grocer today after my class to buy some things to prepare for the upcoming camp. Right after class, I felt I was starving, so I bought some waffles but I did not really dare to eat in front of the Malays who are in their fasting month currently. Hence, I started walking around and tried to wait for their buka puasa (time to open fast). I tried eating in the fitting room but I figured the smell of the food maybe enticing for them, so I stopped. As I was walking around for time to pass, I passed by my favourite dessert stall. The first thing I want to give thanks today is I get to eat Llao Llao!!! It is a yoghurt ice-cream from Spain, I think. I love it because it very refreshing, topped it with the legendary caramelized biscuit sauce. I got myself a small one, the petite Llao. When I got it, it was their breaking fast time, hooray!!!

34319895_10156946197190260_4985303342310752256_n.jpg

34156743_10156946220975260_6647729142135521280_n.png

I quickly went to the grocer after that because I wanted to be home not too late. After picking some stuffs for the camp, went through my checklist, I was so ready to pay. When I went to my cashier, she told me with a simple registration, I can collect points with a membership with their grocer. I was thinking I do visit them rather often as it is really near my place, so why not? Two young ladies were helpful to guide me to install the app into my phone. However, my telco reception was horrible at that floor. I looked back at my cashier, she was so helpful and asked if I was having problem with connection. She asked me to go upstairs and she will look after my goods for me. With lesser customers at that hour because everyone has gone to eat, she held the counter for me.

I quickly ran up one floor and tried to download the app. I registered and thought logging in using Facebook will be faster but I forgot that I needed to verify the account using email. That particular email has been invalid for a long time, thus there is no way for me to log in to verify at all. I had to go down to tell them I failed and they had to cancel the first registration because I could not create a new account with the same identity card number.

I was feeling bad because the cashier had already held the counter for maybe 15 minutes. I looked at her again. She gave me the most assuring look and said, "Takpe, takpe!" (meaning it's okay, it's okay.) She said I gave her time to eat, because she had not have the time to eat yet, so she thanked me instead.

I have seen this lovely cashier since the first time I visited this grocer. She has been working there for some time. Every time I was there, I noticed she is very cheerful and happy. She is either smiling or laughing. Her laughter is quite contagious and it makes the cashier place always a happy place. This is none other than Nor Hayati, a very vibrant girl. She looks like she is in her twenties. I explained I do feature workers and asked if it would be a problem added to her if I want to tip her. She said it is not a problem and gave her usual friendly smile. She mentioned that Jaya Grocer is one of a very lenient and happy place to work at. It is not too rigid there because I explained my previous experience about tipping a petrol station attendant. Before me, I saw she has gotten acquainted with some of the other customers. She was jokingly asking the other customer why she didn't choose her as the cashier this time.

34202906_10156946190165260_7618006578364416000_n.jpg

34199269_10156946186365260_7386968613791465472_n.jpg

Hence, any payout from this post will be given to Nor Hayati as a tip for her kind gesture and her natural self of uplifting the grocer's atmosphere. I do get kindness shown by strangers sometimes. I have seen Nor Hayati showing her friendliness over the counter countless times. I definitely think for someone who is spreading positivity at her workplace, without herself knowing it, deserves to be rewarded. I believe we are always surrounded by kind strangers, who will definitely lend a hand in time of need. They are not stingy with giving us a smile, hold the lift door for us, holding a door for us (which I too experienced today at my student's condominium), help to pick up some things, help with entertaining our children etc.

TODAY, I AM THANKFUL FOR KIND STRANGERS!*

34156743_10156946220975260_6647729142135521280_n.png

Now, about this challenge I am in...

  1. Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  2. Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  3. Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  4. Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
    (Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)
  5. Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

After being tagged by @alvinauh and also @lymepoet, I have to tag 3 persons each day! However, it is up to you if you want to respond to the challenge. It is quite a nice way to motivate us to write for seven days in a row, though.

Today, I'm tagging @michelleloh168, @iamjadeline and @khimgoh!

Check out this challenge by @conradt! :)

Thank you for reading my second gratitude post. 5 more days to go!!

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png

Sort:  

I am sure there is kindness everywhere but do we have to show ours to others first, that's how the universe works.

What a lovely initiative you have going. I really love kindness too! Isn't it wonderful how simple smiles and kind gestures can so profoundly make the world a better place!

What a lovely initiative you have going. I really love kindness too! Isn't it wonderful how simple smiles and kind gestures can so profoundly make the world a better place!

Congratulations @happycrazycon: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

I really love what you have going here, giving back to kind strangers. I think this is so kind of you to do. I know what you mean about helpful workers. It seems nowadays a lot of people are rude and don’t want to help you whether it’s their job or not. So to find a worker that is helpful and kind is a big deal :)

Oh by the way that yoghurt ice cream looks delicious!!

Another awesome gestures of love and kindness you did to strangers! :) The world need more people like you ❤

Oooh, one of my favorite froyos!! Always a great encouragement to see love and kindness being spread intentionally, the community is blessed to have you! :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89