Seven Day Positivity Challenge - Day 6

We're almost done our Seven Day Positivity Challenge. Thanks to @canadianrenegade and whoever started this challenge in the first place.

Today I'm grateful for a partner that knows how to defuse an ugly, confrontational situation. He often finds himself at the centre of an unprovoked, unexpected attack, and he can never be sure when he's going to find himself suddenly behind enemy lines. His sharp intuition is what I rely on when I am overcome with what I can only describe as a monstrous brain bully. It can take anything I see, hear or feel and twist it into something painful, potentially ruinous and always cripplingly embarrassing.
20170517_200541-ANIMATION.gif
(This after taking down an enemy portal in Ingress. I delight him.)

When I spring out of my primal shell, the other part of me springs out too. One part trying to ruin my/our life, and push love away, and the other trying to maintain balance, control and proper perspective. It is a terrible shame to conceal your mental illness as a bad mood, a few bad years, or a bad lifetime. I don't need to look it up to know it's bad, and I don't need an expert to tell me what a social tsunami it is to live with, because I know intimately, and so does my husband.

Today I am thankful for a man that understands that healing isn't linear, and clarity is essential. He knows that strong hugs and deep trust are what I need, and what I have never been able to feel. Each time it happens, he helps me clear old debris and makes room for the pain to leave my body in peace. He makes it easy to let terrible thoughts and fears have a voice, and a moment of consideration, and then finally, a strong, solid place to feel safe, and to be put to rest. It isn't easy, and without him, it would not be possible.

The rules:
Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
Mention three people who should do this on each day.
Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)
Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.
We nominate @rosegold @beyondordinary and @arcticgarden to get their positivity on.

Sort:  

This is really beautiful. Finding a partner who can accept us fully and truly stand by us in the hardest times is so important. Even though mental illness is still taboo in so many ways, I am glad people have started talking more openly about it; that's the only way we will beat it. I am so glad you found each other. I am equally as happy that you make gifs for your posts. <3 -Aimee

Thank you so much. That is so true, and we'll put the stormtrooper gif in the next one, just for you.

Wha- a stormtrooper gif?! Exciting! Can't wait! -Aimee

I wish I found this 1 day earlier. I cant upvote the post but I will join the challenge.

It's a pretty good challenge. Better than when I challenge myself to layoff the ice cream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77