Gratitude Challenge 7: Be Still My Beating Heart

Have you asked yourself who you're grateful for lately? When we think of gratitude we often think of what makes our lives easier instead of the who. The most constant aspects of our lives can be overlooked simply because they are so reliable we forget how greatly their absence would affect us.

By committing to the 7 Day Positivity Challenge that @mariannewest kindly invited me to, I have had to sit down and really identify all these wonderful things I have been taking for granted. This world has become so filled with hatred that we can easily get swept away in negativity. Let's start a shift together and start sharing our blessings instead.

WeddingMr. & Mrs. Canadian Renegade the night they tied the knot. Photo courtesy of Julia James

If you are fortunate enough to have a partner in your life, you know what I am talking about. They become so intertwined in your life that you just can't imagine their absence. They make your heart race, they give you butterflies, they hold you tight, and they build you up. That's right, I saved the best for last.

I am grateful for Matthew.

I pride myself on being independent and enjoy the feeling of being self-sufficient. Being able to take care of myself is a quality I have always valued because nothing in life is certain. When I met Matthew, I was adamant that I wouldn't allow myself to become reliant. I am not above asking for help when I need it, but I also don't look for anyone to hold my hand either.

As we began dating, Matthew's kindness and genuine compassion were indisputable. He was, and still is, always encouraging me to chase my passions and reach my full potential in anything I pursue. My wellness was always one of his top priorities too. Whether I'm under the weather, or battling a physical hurdle he is always there to offer suggestions and come to my aid.

When we decided to start a family I was nervous about leaving the working world. I struggled with the thought of relying on income brought home by someone other than myself. Even though he assured me that we were in this together and that taking care of our family was a legitimate contribution, I still decided I would go back to work, even part-time, as soon as I could. When we discovered we would be having twins, I wrestled with how to be a working mom; working moms are incredible. Well, I haven't exactly found a way to head back to work but I feel less guilty about it because I have the support of my partner.

Rings

When I recently lost my wedding ring, I felt such heartache. Along with our vows, there were so many memories tied to that ring. I couldn't imagine not finding it or even replacing it. I would always know a new ring was a substitution for the one we'd married with. He reminded me that we have each other and that's more important than the ring.

No matter how much I write about how blessed I am to have Matthew in my life, I know no words could ever do him justice. He is the most compassionate, loving, hard working man I know. He inspires me every day and I simply could not imagine my life without him.

You've Been Nominated

@mountainjewel
@coyoteom
@smithlabs

The rules:

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)
  • Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

Unless otherwise stated, all photos and illustrations in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade.


Canadian renegade Logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

family is the most beautiful thing in our life, I also feel it

There is nothing that binds us together like family. <3 Thanks for stopping by. -Aimee

you get a great blessing in your family, you are really lucky friend

Thank you, having Matthew in my life really does feel like a blessing. -Aimee

That's a beautiful photo of you two up there. Those things you just stated about your partner and your love for each other is evident there in the photo. You are blessed to have Matt and your twins. I'm sorry to hear about your ring but your husband is right. What matters most is that you have each other. Ironic because most people these days have their respective rings yet the love and respect for each other have long been gone. Stay blessed @canadianrenegade.

Thank you so much. I really am blessed and as many memories as that ring carried, the reality the memories were made with the people not the jewelry. Matt is right, all that matters is that we have each other, but just don't let him know I said that. 😉 Ha ha ha! -Aimee

Hahaha. Your secret is safe with me ;)

Oh this is sweet, I was planning on making my 7th day gratitude my hubby as well. You beat me to it. Hahaha you also beat me to the coffee.

I haven't lost my wedding ring, I stopped wearing it when I can't fit into it anymore. But Matthew's right, you have each other and now the twin renegades too!

Thank you! You definitely should still save day 7 for your hubs. There's something special about putting all those feelings out there for the world to see. Plus, adding it to the clock chain is the modern day equivalent carving the proclamation in stone. Ha ha ha!

You were going to write about coffee too? That's hilarious. You know what they say about great minds. 😉

I had to take mine off for a while when I was swollen, but as soon as they fit again I wore them. I didn't realize how much I touched them in a day until one was missing.

Yeah, he is right - but don't tell him I said that. Having each other is all that really matters. -Aimee

I am saving day 7 for hubby. I have quite a lot of comments to reply to so apologies in advance for replying late.

I was going to write about coffee! So when I saw your post I was like 😱 lol. But it's not the end of the world, we have a lot more to be thankful for. 😀

I am saving #7 for my main squeeze too!

Love it! Can't wait to see what you write! -Aimee

I pride myself on being independent and enjoy the feeling of being self-sufficient. Being able to take care of myself is a quality I have always valued because nothing in life is certain

I relate to that so much. When we met, I was Miss Independent - I never wanted to wed or to even give up my maiden name, but someone meeting J made all that crumble!!! And I just don't care! xxx

I love love and it sounds like you're in it-Aimee

We love love. Big high fives from us.

🖐️ and I love high fives. -Aimee

I can tell that Matt is that kind of guy. You are both blessed to have each other and I am glad @lovenfreedom and I know you. I can see the flames in your hearts in the picture of you two.
You guys have a beautiful future ahead of you. May God richly bless you!

Thank you, he really is a one in a million. We're glad to have connected with you and @lovenfreedom too; It's always nice to find like-minded individuals. We wish you bountiful blessings on your family as well. -Aimee

What a beautiful post, and a great tribute to your love for Matthew! I really like your picture with the sparklers, too--that was a great idea!

Thank you! Getting married in the age of Pinterest is pretty handy. 😉 -Aimee

What a beautiful post, and a great tribute to your love for Matthew! I really like your picture with the sparklers, too--that was a great idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82