GRATITUDE DAY FIVE - SEEING GOOD IN THE BAD AND THE UGLY

Goshna 004.JPG

It's easy to be grateful for good things. But how can you be grateful for the bad? How do you still rejoice in the ugly? Even the very ugly. I won't lie to you. It is NOT EASY. In fact it is very, V.E.R.Y difficult. My triplet stepsons are autistic. Yes. All three of them. They are each unique boys, but the most difficult (read MOST difficult) lives with my husband and I. When I say difficult I don't mean non-verbal or stimmying difficult - I mean screaming, smashing windows, banging his head difficult. Autism is a tragic epidemic of this age, and on an alarming increase. But I am not about to get into the hows and why. I am simply going to share with you that, if nothing else, this frustrated young man has been a life lesson to me. If I didn't see the situation this way I don't think I would cope. And so I am grateful. Every time he screams (anything from half a dozen to 30 times a day) and every time he rampages through my kitchen throwing breakables or smashes another window (once to 10 times a day) I have to take a deep breath and remember that it is not his fault and he is my life's lesson. And then I am grateful.

Rourke is like a bird trapped in a cage. It is very rare that we hear his beautiful song but when we do how sweet it is! I am grateful for those moments. Precious times when he will make a joke (he has a fantastic sense of humour), or when he says "I'm sorry stepmom, please don't go away" or when he will ask to skype with his dad (from the next room). Then we rejoice and are grateful for the silver lining behind the storm cloud. But mostly I am grateful that Rourke is a reminder to me of just how hardheaded each of us can be. I am grateful that my Heavenly Father is so patient with me, despite the fact that I may not want to listen to Him. He is patient with me despite the fact that I may never want to go in the direction He is gently guiding me, for my own good. I am grateful that the Most High loves me despite the fact that I may be spiritually or emotionally autistic and hard headed. Rourke is my life lesson. And I am grateful that he is a reminder that I must hear and obey and walk in the way of my good, and loving Heavenly Father. I am grateful for the One Who knows better and has a perfect plan for me. As He has a perfect plan for Rourke.

Goshna 008.JPG

PLEASE ACCEPT THIS GRATITUDE CHALLENGE

@luis.sakoda
@lturner
@simms50

Thanks to @lovenfreedom for the nomination.

The rules:
• Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
• Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
• Mention three people who should do this on each day.
• Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)
Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag in Steemit.

download.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @buckaroo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Not sure I will take you up on the challenge..but thanks for the nomination!

Not a problem. I didn't think I would either, and I was nominated by a number of different people. But now that I've started I could easily continue another 7 days. I'm about to shut down for Shabbat but it's quite amazing that my last Gratitude number 7 is tomorrow on the Shabbat rest of the Most High. I think my last Gratitude post will be about the Truth of Torah. Blessings and shalom to you @simms50

I think that is an EXCELLENT choice for number 7! Blessings and Shabbat Shalom to you and your family!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92