The Mighty New Zealand Meat Pie

Sometimes a challenge is issued to you in life and you know exactly how you must respond. Yesterday @Conradt nominated me for the seven-day culture challenge. And the answer entered my mind like a sheep thrusting through the wire fence to freedom. I had to write about the New Zealand meat pie. No words can truly do it justice but I will do my best.


7667051700_138423a01f_b.jpg

Source:Creative Commons

Posterior view

7667051700_138423a01f_b.jpg
Source:Creative Commons

Anterior view

Surface_wood_chipboard.jpg
Source:Creative Commons

Bottom View (can’t see it because of the table)

3315048930_c5d936768d_b.jpg
Source:Creative Commons

birds eye view

Vegan_Meat_Pie_01_Pengo.jpg
Source:Creative Commons

Dissection

Here we can see the layering. First we have the crispy pastry giving slightly then yielding to your teeth with a gentle crunch. Proceeding downwards we enter the gravy should be and a molten state, supporting and covering the meats layer. Should be composed of at least eight distinct pieces and no jelly which you really hope you don’t see here. The final layer is once again pastry, Unlike the top layer this is acceptable without the crunchy texture.

Ancestry



From England but comparing the modern evolved New Zealand meat pie to its lesser predecessor is like comparing a gentleman to an early hominid who still spends most of his days swinging through branches.

Consumption



A major strength is it can form any meal of the day but it’s possible you might regret it a bit if you have it for breakfast

Habitat



Unfortunately hard to find outside of New Zealand and Australia but if anyone finds an online merchant of high quality I will be their best customer.

And I’m spent. Might not complete the full culture challenge because I’ve got a busy week coming up!

Sort:  

the cake is that, i have never seen before ,,, but it looks very nice ,,, should you send me..?

Sadly for me ( I am in China now) you can only find meat pies in New Zealand Australia or England. It’s good for your health that I can’t send it to you!

I'm so hungry now!!
Love that line: ...(comparing it to its) lesser predecessor is like comparing a gentleman to an early hominid :))

Indeed. No meat pie should suffer the indignity of being compared to a less evolved specimen!

Wow! This looks so yummy @flyyingkiwi. I wish I could grab it off the image.
Question though - Can you prepare it yourself?

Sadly I lack the skill to prepare such a masterpiece

Very detailed everything, I have a curiosity friend. Why do they call it meatloaf? Is it sweet?

Most pies are sweet, but meat pies aren't. We call the flavour savoury. It's how pies should be!

Good post. I'm a bit late but:

Haha that's one cool cop. Words of wisdom. pretty bad when you burn the roof of your mouth, cuts down on the enjoyment of the next few pies.

Haha agreed. Also full agreement on burned mouth... always blow on the pie!

I was pretty much drooling reading this @flyyingkiwi after being in Spain 8 months and haven't had a kiwi Pie - they have pie type things here but they just dont compete!

Tough times. I should start a new career as an international pie merchant

Haha Id be your number one customer!

Congratulations @flyyingkiwi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow! This looks so yummy @flyyingkiwi. I wish I could grab it off the image.
Question though - Can you prepare it yourself?

Looks delicious ......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37