7 Day culture challenge - day 1! New Zealand food culture

Last week I started up the #7daypositivitychallenge, and I was blown away by how many people have joined in, and am enjoying reading some nice positive stories on Steemit! As I have a bit less time for Steemit right now I thought I would continue with a new challenge as I find these a great way to still keep up posting and engaging but they dont take up to much of your time - and its nice to have a prompt!

Steemit is a social media platform but what I have noticed is that not too many people share about their culture. So I have decided the start the #sevendayculturechallenge where steemians can share diffferent aspects of their culture - food, art, economy and music are just some ideas of things to share.

pexels-photo-346696.jpeg

The rules:

  • Write a post about an aspect of your culture - e.g. food, arts, dance, economy, money, governement etc
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7dayculturechallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
  • Include a picture of something from your culutre related to yoru story if possible
  • Post these rules at the bottom of your post

Note - if you like the idea of this and would like to participate but werent nominated, feel free to join in and just mention that I nominated you :)

If you are still doing a different challenge and are nominated feel free to start this one once you have finished the last one!

Food typical in New Zealand


Although New Zealand doesnt have a rich food culture there are some foods that are more typical and some that I miss now that I have moved to Spain. Alot of the food culture in New Zealand has come from the UK, for example Fish n chips - which is battered and deep fried fish and chips - I have many memories as a child getting fish n chips and eating them by the beach in the summer.

Probably the most unique meal in New Zealand is the traditional Maori Hangi - a hangi is essentially food slow cooked underground. It takes a while to prepare - digging a big hole and then burying the food, but it really has a discinct flavour. I highly reccomend trying it if you get the chance!

Lollies/chocolates - Pinapple lumps, Jaffas and whittakers chocolates ust to name a few! We took some pineapple lumps to our language exchange and the Spanish seemed to love the idea of a sweet piece of pineapple coated in chocolate :)

Coffee - we are spoilt for choice in New Zealand with some of the best coffees I have ever experienced - I think I took it for granted while I was there - sorry Europe but in general your coffees just arent the same!

pexels-photo-312420.jpeg

A common dinner in New Zealand is actually pretty plain - meat and vegetables. But we are known for our lamb and beef so the meat is really good quality and is always grass fed - all beef and lamb in New Zealand is 'free range'. Im sure I have missed a few but I hope my other kiwi friends on here can fill in the gaps for me :).

I am just starting this challenge so I will nominate 5 people to get us started:
@flyyingkiwi
@verhp11
@paradigm42
@mikesthoughts
@improv

Remember if you want to join in and werent noiminated go for and just mention that I nominated you :)

I look forward to reading everyones posts and learning more about your culture!

Sort:  

I'm on it. I can feel the post forming in my head

Awesome @flyyingkiwi figured it was a good idea to get anotehr New Zealander on it to share some of our culture! :)


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Wow! thats an awesome way to know about People with respect to their cultures!

Thanks @faady92 feel free to join the challenge :)

I can Write, But Don't have pictures! Can i use it from the internet?

This post has received a 9.78 % upvote from @boomerang.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Challenge accepted @conradt , very nice one... But I first have to finish the postivity challenge :) Steemit is eating all my time lol !!!

Cool @verhp11 yeah Steemit can do that! I have a bit less time to put in now that is why im doing these challenges so i can still post and keep in touch with people and they don't take to long ☺

Great idea, and thank you for the nomination! I will start working on a post soon. :)

I think part of the reason we have such good coffee is Havana Coffee Works, set up by Geoff Marsland and Tim Rose in the 90s. They certainly had a huge effect on coffee culture in Wellington, starting with their coffee shop Midnight Espresso in Cuba St. We had a bike shop two doors along from them, in the 90s, so saw a fair bit of them.

OK - I knew the name of Havana coffee but didnt know they had such a big affect on the coffee in NZ.. We went to London recently and there is as Ozone coffee shop owned by New Zealanders - the taste was brilliant reminded me of home

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43