You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You're Free...unless we think you're dangerous...

in #3dprinting6 years ago

Very interesting read. Last year I built and AR from the ground up and the only thing I had to "register" was the lower receiver. It is much simpler than most people realize.

You would think I would be used to the slant most media outlets spin on stories to get views, but they never cease to amaze me.

Sort:  

Yeah, the lower receiver is the only part that's restricted in the US. You can technically order every other piece of a gun and have it shipped to your door, legally, with no restriction.

You can even order a lower receiver that's not fully finished and finish it yourself. Of course, it's not exactly easy to do that necessarily, but pretty much anyone can with a bit of coaching and practice. I've seen people do it quite a few times in videos, even novices, and most of them managed to do it, sometimes after messing up a few times.

Building the entire thing by contrast...is quite a bit harder. I'm not sure I would necessarily want to myself unless it was just as a project for the fun of it. Some are quite a bit easier than others, of course. I hear a shotgun can be done extremely easily.

I went to an AR armorer class for work and once I realized how simple it was, I decided to build one myself as a project. It was also cheaper and more customized this way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65