You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drowning In a Sea of Memories : 31 Sentence Contest - Round 11

Lovely story.

My mom is a hoarder. We had to move many, many times in my youth. One of the worst things was carrying her twenty trash bags filled with clothes that she couldn't possibly wear in a year, even if she changed every day.

The last time I went to stay with her, I found out and saw a semi-truck trailer, like the ones that deliver to big chain stores, filled to the top with rats living within the mess. I was horrified. She just won't let that stuff go.

Sort:  

Hello @tristancarax I understand completely. I knew someone once in that situation. I didn't even scratch the surface of what really could happen in these type of situations because it's so gross and heartbreaking. But the fact is it's an illness that requires therapy. Family usually doesn't know how to help and only makes the family member withdraw even further and ban them from coming around.

In worse case scenarios, animal life is living inside the appliances, including the refrigerators, cupboards, stove, and cabinets. That's what makes people sick.

My mom was a mini hoarder. But as much as she brought in, we gave away. And she didn't even miss it. It was a never-ending revolving door. I've seen worse cases than hers. At least, it didn't involve trash. Just junk trinkets, and 10 items of each.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88