You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Miss Diode Strikes Again - The 31 Sentence Contest: Round 8

So glad to see your entry here! From the very beginning, your story shows your imagination at work, the AI in a can with the reservoir of saved, unwanted thoughts, making medical history and saving little Lorinda's life. I'm glad your ending shows Lorinda's own mind is still active, and not just her body.

A very interesting take indeed, and very well written! I hope the Metropolis film with the lost footage is available on youtube!

Sort:  

Thank you!
I wonder now how many people say the shift to First Person as Lorinda talking, vs Miss Diode. My offspring tell my prose is confusing and hard to read. Actually, a lot of people have told me that. I need to spell things out more clearly. I'm glad you commented in a specific way that shows me I need to work harder at clarity. Thanks again!

Ah, so Miss Diode does take over everything then - including the body - meaning Lorinda is deceased?

Lorinda is alive and healed - but her body is now a host to this invader, this A.I., and will the two co-exist, or one must subdue the other?
Thanks for taking an interest in this silly flight of fancy. :)

My pleasure! Your story is so good, and thank you for clearing this up for me. I don't think everything has to be outwardly revealed in a story, and leaving some parts or situations to the imagination of the reader is a good thing. :)

You remind us, as writers, of that eternal struggle to balance how much information to deliver (risking the "info-dump" or the "you're telling, not showing") versus trusting the reader to make inferences or to guess what's up. My offspring always tell me my prose is obscure and hard to follow. All too often, though, I read novels where exposition is too straightforward, too conscientious, with too many words to explain what's going on - and if readers skim and speed-read (I'm often guilty of that), the writer doesn't deliver the intended message. Thanks again for your feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39