You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cagliari Calling

This is rich. Very clever. A conspiracy within a conspiracy. Very nice verbal gymnastics. I admire your application. When I wrote my story, I found the exercise both stimulating and exhausting. In a good way.
I'm resteeming, to give this very successful exercise more exposure.

Sort:  

Ditto that. But I keep re-reading this to see how it could be that the client hired a man to kill...himself?
Where was a mistake made? This wasn't intended to be a suicide, right?
I've never had the brains for thrillers and whodunnits! But I do spot irony - whether or not I understand what just happened.
Clever, indeed, and well written!

Thank you @carolkean that is such a very useful comment, it's so so valuable to hear what made sense and what left people wondering.

how it could be that the client hired a man to kill...himself? Where was a mistake made? This wasn't intended to be a suicide, right?

Ahh you are better at whodunnits than you thought! Suicide by hit man was exactly what was going on. Plans himself a nice evening of too much expensive wine and illegal cheese, and checks out in a way that has the chance of catapulting his books into success. I had really really wanted to have more at the end about Fox with his immaculate memory, putting the parts together as to why Mr Dalton did this. But, thank you, I think working on this as an unconstrained story, I will put a bit more in about the evening Fox has been instructed to allow play out, the untraceable and hard to identify means of killing, along with Mr Dalton's desire to get the truth out there and to have it be believed - which I am hoping would help bring the puzzle pieces together. Although equally, I suspect titling the story Mr Dalton's Posthumous Best-seller probably would have done the job lol

Mr Dalton's Posthumous Best-seller - #loveit! - and can't believe I really did read it correctly: suicide by hired homicide. That's mind blowing. You have a gift, and I look forward to more on Mr. Dalton and the illustrious Fox!

@letalis-laetitia Thank you for that courteous and expansive response to my comment. I'll be sure to upvote and retweet your posts again.

Thank you very much, it was a very entertaining exercise, it was fun to do, but I lost a lot of what I wanted, which in itself was very insightful. I am so happy you called it successful, it ended up further away from the prompt than I'd wanted, but I really wanted to stay away from the sad side of memory, and in the end, I did really enjoy this idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62