My 2019 Resolution: To Get Out Of My Own Head (More)

in #20195 years ago


Sometimes we just need to get out of our own way.

As we kick-off a new year, maybe we should make a pledge to not be too hard on ourselves...

I can't speak for you but I am one to over-think decisions. To pause. Analyze. Procrastinate as long as possible on any decision or task that has a potentially weighty outcome or result. And then to get angry with myself if I think I've made "the wrong decision".

Sometimes, procrastinating can be good as I know it has saved me from many a sticky situation in the past. Just letting the dust blow over and then as things unfold, I see what could have happened if I'd been too hasty. But I am sure that there are many situations that could have flipped in my favour, if I had just run with it. Taken the leap of faith.

Following our "thinking mind" or allowing our intellect to run the show can be good but I suspect that our deeper unconscious (all-knowing) mind knows better. I just find it difficult to let go of the dominant chatter and ingrained thinking that drives my actions and approach to life.

In 2019, I am determined to "look through" the thinking mind and to find the gaps where the deeper mind operates and to allow it through (more!).

There is a school of thought that believes that we are born with universal wisdom deep within ourselves. Sorry to get a bit 'meta' here, but it is an interesting thought experiment: to suspend our belief that we need to "think our way through life" and instead to relax into our deeper wisdom or "gut-instinct" or feeling and to let this run the show.

How many times have you had a deep feeling that something should or shouldn't be done? Often, the dominant "thinking" mind will take over and make the final call but this is exactly the case that I would like to tackle this year (and going forward).

You might ask "why" seek to adopt this approach?

For me personally, I would like to get out of my own head more. To be more present in every situation. To experience life more in the moment - both in personal and business life. To be more curious and spontaneous and importantly, to stop searching outwards for answers (an insatiable quest for more information) when I might already know what to do or what to say - if I could just let go.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://businessn2k.com/my-2019-resolution-to-get-out-of-my-own-head-more/

Sort:  

Your and me both

You are right ... we must be very wise in making decisions. Success for you, Steve.
.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @stevelivingston!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.072 which ranks you at #9748 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 19 places in the last three days (old rank 9729).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #167.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90