A hell of a year - Jon Magnusson's 2018

in #20186 years ago (edited)


Listen to a collection of my songs released in 2018 on

Spotify
Choon
Deezer
YouTube Music

Well. I barely know where to start. This year that's about to end has been the most incredible year musically but even more so personally.

I wont dwell to long on my personal life, but the year started with a quite dramatic New Years night and day, when my daughter decided to come out one month earlier than expected.

And it has been such a joy seeing her grow for each day and she's becoming quite the little music fan.

Well, enough about my personal life, it has also been an amazing year for me musically. Never have I've been writing, recording and releasing so much music. And I have got to known so many great people, getting new listeners and friends all over the world. So here's a little summary on what I've done this year.

In the beginning of the year I finished the recordings of two EP's. The indie rock/folk/psych EP recorded and co-produced by my good friend and amazing produced Ruben at Studio Ljudriket. To this date this is the release I am the most happy with and also the release that has rendered the most positive feedback from critiques and listeners.

Listen on
Spotify
iTunes
Choon
Bandcamp
Deezer
Amazon

In connections with the release I made a remix competition where people got to make their interpretations of songs from the EP. And this resulted in no less than 11 remixes that I later on released as a Deluxe Version of the EP. If you wanna listen to all the remixes the Deluxe Version is available via Spotify, iTunes, Deezer and Amazon via the links above.

After releasing the Always a Rebel EP I got more and more in to jazz and psychedelic/progressive instrumental music and that led to me recording and releasing the first instrumental song since "Visa från Utanmyra". The song "April Sun" is for now only available on Choon

And in the middle of July I released a different kind a project. "Acoustic Dreams" were a collaboration with my friend and great producer/mixer Tobi. Actually finished early 2018, but with the release of Always a Rebel we wanted to wait a while to release it. Consisting of two originals and three very special covers and all songs made with finger picked acoustic guitar and string arrangements as the foundation.

Listen on
Spotify
iTunes
Choon
Bandcamp
Deezer
Amazon

After the release of Acoustic Dreams I continued to work on new music and especially some more instrumental jazz/psych/prog stuff and this will end up in next EP being purely instrumental and planned release sometime in the beginning of 2019. One of the songs is the jazz tune "For Whatever It's Worth" that is exclusively available on Choon.

And if my regular music wasn't enough. With the birth of my daughter I also started writing children's music in both English, Spanish and Swedish. And in the beginning of November I released the album "I Am a Little Rascal" under the pseudonym Papijon.

Listen on
Spotify
iTunes
Choon
Deezer
Amazon

Besides releasing music I've been quite active in the independent music community making a lot of new friends thanks to sites and services like Atom Collector Records, Steemit, DSound, Choon. Emanate etc It might be a cliche, but "team work makes the dream work". So a big thank you to everyone in the music community. Artists, bloggers, radio people, promoters... you know who you are!

With me being a new father and all, I haven't had time to play much live. But in April I had a great time meeting the fellow musician Stephen Sunshine from New York and we got to hang out for a day and then did a gig at PSB in Stockholm.

I have been making quite a few streamed concerts on Facebook Live which has been very fun but next year though I'm planning to do a lot more live gigs.

Next year I'm going to be on parental leave for more than half a year, so it might be I have to be a little less active online, but I'm also putting in a lot of effort at the moment making my work flow a lot more effective and focusing even more on making new friends and listeners by building real relationships. An my main channel for doing so is via my Messenger Community that has evolved to something very fun.

And at last, it's time to look forward to 2019. I've already mention the tour in Spain and the instrumental EP. But there will also be an acoustic cover, a collaboration in Spanish with the Mexican artist John Indie and who know what more. So make sure to stay tuned and if you don't wanna miss anything, my Messenger Community is the place to be!

http://m.me/jonmagnussonof

So have a great holiday and see you all very soon!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.jonmagnusson.se/2018/12/17/a-hell-of-a-year-jon-magnussons-2018/

Sort:  

@jonmagnusson You have received a 100% upvote from @steemconductor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78